We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tapas - with a twist”
Review of Eichardt's Bar

Eichardt's Bar
Ranked #29 of 265 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Modern New Zealand cuisine served Tapas style with tasting plates. Fresh, local produce. Outstanding wine selection and brilliant cocktail list. Please note it is not possible to reserve tables - Eichardt's is a small bar with 7 tables only, bookings are not practical. When full, guests are offered the option to wait in the hotel foyer and drinks may be taken there.
Reviewed 27 November 2019 via mobile

We loved this place and visited twice during our 5 day trip. Best to work your way through the tapas menu(!), but highlights for us were the calamari, the lamb and the pork cheeks. Great NZ wine on offer, especially the Chardonnay, a beautiful view of the lake and the staff are really friendly and super-attentive. Don’t miss it.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Q5222JQstevec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2019 via mobile

We stopped by for some pre dinner drinks and tapas. The wine was excellent and the tapas which included whitebait were very good. The staff seemed quite rushed and we found they treated us and other customers as a nuisance and an interruption to their busy day. 2 stars.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperium_Group, Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Dear GlobetrotterJSH

Thank you for your feedback, I will pass on your comment to the team.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2019

Eichardts bar is lovely for a coffee or a cocktail. We came as 3 ladies needing to get off our feet and have a drink, and Eichardts delivered. Right on the lakefront, it's a cosy spot to catch up with friends (or I imagine it's great for a date!)

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Travellove414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

Hubby and I popped in one evening for a drink and tapas. The small bar was full when we arrived (you can’t book), however we were seated in the restaurant across the hotel foyer and promptly offered some drinks until a table became available in the bar. We didn’t wait long before we were escorted back to the bar with our drinks and seated by the window next to the fireplace. It was a drizzly night and looking out to the lights around the lake and promenade was very pretty. We selected five tapas dishes and the highlight was the seafood chowder - hands down the best I have ever eaten and I would come back for this dish alone. We enjoyed it so much we almost ventured back the next night, however felt that since we only had a few nights left in Queenstown we should try somewhere else. Next trip to Queenstown we will be heading back for sure. Loved it!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank janeyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

We did no teat here this time but just had cocktails and wine. Wait staff were friendly and very accomodating. Cocktails great and atmosphere special

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Brookesanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eichardt's Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Eichardt's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.