We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in all seasons”
Review of Pub on Wharf

Pub on Wharf
Ranked #40 of 285 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: If you're into live music, you have come to the right place. With local live gigs every night of the week we’ll keep you entertained well through the night. We offer fair prices with no holiday surcharges because at Pub on Wharf it's your local too. Even if you’re not from Queenstown we will still make you feel at home and look after you just the same! So if you're in the mood for a laid back kiwi pub with great music, great food and great beer you’ve got to come and spend some time at your local – Pub on Wharf!
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I always go to Pub on the Wharf when I go 'over the hill' to Queenstown. It's the All-weather pub! I love their roaring fire and the fact that it's lovely and warm inside when it's sub-zero outside, or in the blazing heat of summer you can sit out in at the tables under shade and look out at the magnificent views that other restaurants would have you paying top dollar for!

On to the food... it's what Brits love to call 'pub grub', which means homey, delicious and LOTS of it! Always served hot, no tepid chips here! At lunch, try the steak sandwich with onion jam - just epic, and so filling you will NOT need any dinner!

Finally, great service. We've always ended up having a bit of a chinwag with whoever's behind the bar or waiting on, and they are friendly, fun and go the extra mile to make you feel welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RainbowGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Marketing Team at Pub on Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We couldn't be happier to read a review like this. Thanks so much for your kind words and sharing your thoughts on a pub we are very proud of. See you next time you come over the hill. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 960 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Perfectly cooked Lamb Rump!! And my partners Beef Wellington too was delicious. Highly recommend this spot. Live music a bit too loud for us. Lively cosy feel.

1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Marketing Team at Pub on Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Fantastic to hear you found your meals delicious, we will pass on the compliments to the chef! Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Nice and warm. Great service and excellent value for money. Did not expect too much for $20.00 but was pleasantly surprised.

1  Thank 2012kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Marketing team at Pub on Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Our no meals over 20 bucks rule is all about value for our customers. Delivering good quality kiwi food at great prices is what we are all about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went here in February of this year, the bar is a great place to catch up with friends. Both the the food and drinks menu have a wide choice, definitely worth a visit if your visiting Queenstown.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 01AndyE1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, marketing team at Pub on Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thanks for your five star review. Our pub caters for groups of friends well, so glad to hear you found it a good place to catch up with mates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great food and all mains just $20! Glad we came here, was lovely and warm inside and the pints for bigger than average! The service was top notch, probably the best we have had so far on our trip. Gave the waitress a good tip and she was very grateful! Will definitely visit again when we come back.

2  Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Marketing Team at Pub on Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

It's fantastic to receive such great feedback from our customers. Especially in regards to our service. We have a brilliant team who are committed to making our visitors feel at home at the pub. We look forward to welcoming you back someday soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pub on Wharf also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Pub on Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing