We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in all seasons”
Review of Pub On Wharf

Pub On Wharf
Ranked #34 of 258 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Pub on Wharf is Queestown's favourite local Pub with no meals over $20, Mac's naturally New Zealand brewed beer served in our Superior pints and live music 7 days a week! With one of the best locations in Queenstown and a team dedicated to bringing you fair prices and great service, you wouldn't want to miss out! No bookings required just pop in and our friendly staff will help find you a seat.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great in all seasons”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I always go to Pub on the Wharf when I go 'over the hill' to Queenstown. It's the All-weather pub! I love their roaring fire and the fact that it's lovely and warm inside when it's sub-zero outside, or in the blazing heat of summer you can sit out in at the tables under shade and look out at the magnificent views that other restaurants would have you paying top dollar for!

On to the food... it's what Brits love to call 'pub grub', which means homey, delicious and LOTS of it! Always served hot, no tepid chips here! At lunch, try the steak sandwich with onion jam - just epic, and so filling you will NOT need any dinner!

Finally, great service. We've always ended up having a bit of a chinwag with whoever's behind the bar or waiting on, and they are friendly, fun and go the extra mile to make you feel welcome.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RainbowGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Marketing Team at Pub On Wharf, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We couldn't be happier to read a review like this. Thanks so much for your kind words and sharing your thoughts on a pub we are very proud of. See you next time you come over the hill. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    379
    70
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Surer value for a delicious dinner.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Perfectly cooked Lamb Rump!! And my partners Beef Wellington too was delicious. Highly recommend this spot. Live music a bit too loud for us. Lively cosy feel.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Marketing Team at Pub On Wharf, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Fantastic to hear you found your meals delicious, we will pass on the compliments to the chef! Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Nice and warm. Great service and excellent value for money. Did not expect too much for $20.00 but was pleasantly surprised.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Marketing team at Pub On Wharf, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Our no meals over 20 bucks rule is all about value for our customers. Delivering good quality kiwi food at great prices is what we are all about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to Catch Up”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went here in February of this year, the bar is a great place to catch up with friends. Both the the food and drinks menu have a wide choice, definitely worth a visit if your visiting Queenstown.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 01AndyE1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, marketing team at Pub On Wharf, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for your five star review. Our pub caters for groups of friends well, so glad to hear you found it a good place to catch up with mates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Value for money!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great food and all mains just $20! Glad we came here, was lovely and warm inside and the pints for bigger than average! The service was top notch, probably the best we have had so far on our trip. Gave the waitress a good tip and she was very grateful! Will definitely visit again when we come back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Marketing Team at Pub On Wharf, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
It's fantastic to receive such great feedback from our customers. Especially in regards to our service. We have a brilliant team who are committed to making our visitors feel at home at the pub. We look forward to welcoming you back someday soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pub On Wharf also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Pub On Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing