We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$47
View deal
Priceline
US$47
View deal
Agoda.com
US$42
View deal
eDreamsUS$47
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,200)
Filter reviews
1,200 results
Traveller rating
561
357
144
78
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
561
357
144
78
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiwi experience travel desk the kitchen cinema room female dorm dorm room own bathroom common areas in town perfect location new zealand great facilities backpackers balcony wifi sauna plugs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 1,200 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2019

Great location in the middle of the tourist area of Queenstown, and not sure you will find another room in the area for this price. I was surprised to find out the "hostel" has an entire floor of private rooms (with private shower/bath) - it is almost like a hotel except the younger crowd and TV room downstairs.
Room was adequate side and had a balcony. A/C worked well. bed was comfortable. All was clean and well-maintained.
Limited housekeeping service - they empty trash and provide fresh towels daily, but do not make the bed.
It is a bit loud here at night, but if you want to be where all the night-life is, that is one of the sacrifices you make.
If you drive a car there, figure out where to park ahead of time because all the parking in this area is metered. I asked where I could park and the staff member said "I don't know, I don't have a car." That kinda ticked me off, but I found a taxi driver who directed me two blocks away - free parking on "Park Street" (yeah - coincidental name).

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmerC64, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2019

Hey Steve
Thank, you for your review. Delighted you enjoyed all aspects of our property. Apologies for that staff member we have a few newbies to town that joined the team!
Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019

Accommodation right in the centre of Queenstown. We had a private room with en suite which was small but adequate. Unfortunately we backed onto the noisiest night club in town but the double glazing was good and with ear plugs it was ok. Great view of the mountain and cable cars. I would recommend this for back packers but for couples maybe not, I would spend more and stay further out of town next time.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suzi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmerC64, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2019

Thank you for your feedback.
We do have other rooms at the other side of the building which is a little quieter. If you stay with us again let us know and we will request that room type for you. All the best with your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2019

We had an overnight in Queenstown and did not want to pay a fortune for a bed in a mid range hotel so decided to try a backpackers as such, tell you what this place is a gem, central location, great staff, we had a top floor suite incl ensuite which was just like any other hotel room we have stayed in. They have a common area where you can cook your own food as well. all in all i would recommend this place for your stay in Queenstown.

Room tip: get a suite, the other rooms are dorms
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otspyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmerC64, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2019

Hi
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your time with us here. We hope that you keep us in mind for your next Queenstown visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2019

Hubby and I stayed in a room with king size bed, onsuite with shared balcony on the 3rd floor with views of the alleyway bars etc. This room was a good size and much bigger than the room we stayed in previously on the other side overlooking the front of hostel. Was quite noisy with the bars opposite but we were still able to go to sleep ok. Very central location to wander aroung with great bars and restaurants.

Room tip: Consider which side your balcony is on for noise.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgoals1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmerC64, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2019

Hey
Thank you so much for the great insight to the hostel for other travelers. Really hope you enjoyed your Queenstown experience and that you come to visit again.
All the best with your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

Very clean rooms, great shower facilities and shared balcony. Had a twin room in the 3rd floor with great views of the lake. Very central location to great bars and restaurants: Blue Kanu, World Bar, Yonder and so much more.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank emilyscotland1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews