We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Banger afternoon

Absolutely mint time. Had the *most* handsome instructor too. If you’re not reasonably confident in... read more

Reviewed 18 January 2021
Bethanyvandy
via mobile
Absolute MUST Do!!

Our rafting experience was amazing - drifting on the Shotover through the stunning Skippers Canyon... read more

Reviewed 13 January 2021
Emsigningin
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 1,068 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Queenstown
from US$113.40
More Info
from US$149.77
More Info
from US$42.44
More Info
from US$100.28
More Info
Reviews (1,068)
Filter reviews
1,068 results
Traveller rating
790
174
53
31
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
790
174
53
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shotover river great fun great trip adrenaline rush rapids rafts wetsuits safety tunnel scenery paddle adventure instructions canyon activity humour beginners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,068 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2021 via mobile

Absolutely mint time. Had the *most* handsome instructor too. If you’re not reasonably confident in water I would recommend avoiding, time moves very slowly if you go underwater so if you’re gonna panic you won’t have a good time. Got my adrenaline going more than skydiving.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Bethanyvandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021 via mobile

Our rafting experience was amazing - drifting on the Shotover through the stunning Skippers Canyon and flying through the rapids (grade 3 and 4) with each kilometer providing a natural step up in progression. For those who are nervous: you don’t go down a Grade 4 straight away - it’s a gentle progression with lots of practice on Grade 2s and 3s first. The final sections see you drifting through a 170 metre miner-built tunnel straight on to a fantastic Grade 4 rapid - a fabulous way to finish!

Our guides (Kennan, Harry, Will and Percy) put our minds immediately at ease. They had so much rafting experience, were incredibly friendly and professional and made for a very exciting yet safe experience.

The whole operation ran so smoothly, from the transfers (including the expertly navigated Skippers Canyon Drive), to safety briefings and getting us home safely after an exhilarating morning. All the gear (wetsuits etc) is washed well immediately after use and there are hot showers available at the end!

We finished our tour onsite with a delicious and lunch at the newly re-opened Canyon Brewery (not part of the package, but we’ll worth a visit).

Absolutely recommend as a must do activity while in Queenstown.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Emsigningin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021 via mobile

I did this trip back in January 2020 as an introduction to rafting and went back this time with my girlfriend for seconds.
It’s not particularly challenging, but still one of the best things to do in Queenstown. You get both the jet boat and a raft through the valley of lord of the rings.
The crew is very experienced and prepares you for everything as there is still room for error here. Gabby and KC, the owners were in charge of us and they did tell us all about how hard COVID had hit them. I’m happy they were still around and give us this experience

Thank walterohell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020

We saw a locals deal for the whitewater rafting and jet boat and couldn't say no to the price but to be honest I'd pay full price for this activity any time!

The experience from start to finish was amazing, our guides were knowledgeable and fun while still ensuring we were safe and well looked after! The Kawarau river itself is stunning and the part where we got to get out and float down the river was so much fun. We also got to try cliff diving, honestly the whole experience was so varied and kept our whole group entertained.

A HUGE thank you to our guide, Tusk, who made us laugh and feel welcome straight away. All staff we met were excellent though.

If you're in Queenstown and want a thrill, I couldn't recommend this more!

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank LCJ2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2020

Most adventurous part of the trip was the way to the river through narrow unsolid rocky way. Also river basin in valley is really wonderful.
Regarding the rafting experience, boring for most of the time just flowing on the river, my adrenaline went up exactly 6 times when we reach the rapids lasting each time for approximatelly minute.
Guide was overly safety oriented repeatedly mentioning what could happen when we get out of the raft.
Overall I was pretty disappointed comparing this experience to my previous ones from different continents.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank JaroslavNecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews