We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic fun highly reccommended”
Review of GO Orange

GO Orange
Book In Advance
More Info
US$168.20*
and up
Queenstown Shotover River White Water Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whitewater rafting is the last extreme experience in the adventure capital of New Zealand and we intend to keep it that way. You will embark on a man V nature battle of willpower in one of the most scenic environments in the world. Raft where the jetboats fear to go and prepare to take a rapid in the face as you hold on during this four hour paddle experience. Don’t take photos of the river, take on the river.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Epic fun highly reccommended ! My wife and i had a great time with the crew and found the staff and experience right from the start really enjoyable

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank BlakeyJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"queenstown rafting"
in 133 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 73 reviews
"shotover river"
in 222 reviews
"rafting guide"
in 17 reviews
"great fun"
in 86 reviews
"actual rafting"
in 9 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 33 reviews
"wet suits"
in 23 reviews
"start point"
in 11 reviews
"helicopter ride"
in 25 reviews
"beautiful river"
in 11 reviews
"an adventure"
in 20 reviews
"new zealand"
in 31 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 21 reviews
"thanks guys"
in 12 reviews
"great trip"
in 15 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 9 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2018

An incredible way to end our adventures in New Zealand! I knew the white water rafting with Shotover would be good... I had no idea it would be great! The trip starts with a bus ride that's almost as crazy as the rafting! Driving on the 7th most dangerous highway in the world! But don't let that scare you, as the driver makes the road an awesome time! The rafting experience is obviously where it's at though! The water when I went, was freezing! But honestly, I couldn't feel it because of the great equipment we were using! The rafting then goes for about 2 hours and the rapids are crazy! As well as getting to see magnificent scenery! I would also like to give special mention to Jack our guide! He was an incredible part of the experience as the energy he brings to rafting is fun and contagious! His Maori culture also helps enrich the experience, as you can see the significance the land has in his life. It was a joy and a pleasure to share the rafting experience with him. After the rafting ends, a video is professionally made of the great time we had! Along with well-taken photos for a low price! I did the bungee jumping in New Zealand too, but honestly, I think I enjoyed the rafting the most! And that's saying something...

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Keanu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

One of the highlights of our tour. Wasn’t disappointed. Had an amazing time. Jack our raft guide was very good and kept was entertained.
We had so many rapids and even our journey to shotover river was so scenic
We also went through a tunnel which was very unique. Not seen with other rafting tours. Very different experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 836rachaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

We booked a rafting on the shotover river, they called us the day before and said it wasn’t happening due to weather conditions, fair enough, and we rescheduled for the day after instead when they said chances would be good to be able to go. Once we were there at 08.00 in the morning the guy we met was a bit nervous looking to get someone else we could speak to since the shotover was cancelled again but they hadn’t told us. We didn’t think much of it but clearly his nervousness indicate that he knew what a downgrade we were in for.

Mark came, good guy, and told us we couldn’t go over to the shotover due to some snow (also meaning we missed out on the canyon views advertised to us in the shop) and gave us the option of joining on the other, lower graded river instead. Some back and forth we decided to go for it since we where there now and didn’t want to go through the hassle of rebooking again.

They told us the other river had 4 rapids instead of 12 but that they were bigger with heavier waves. We got on the boat and paddled along flat water forever, eventually we bumped down a couple of small washes and the last rapid was the only one resembling what I would have expected for more or less the whole time we were on the water. Still not impressed or “pumped with adrenaline” as the guides kept talking about.

When we talked to the guy in the shop where we booked (go orange) we also specifically talked about the sauna they advertised (also in print on their brochure) and that it kind of tipped the scales over to going for us but well on site it turned out the sauna had been closed for weeks already. That’s just scamming straight off.

We came into the shop afterward to have a look at the pictures they shot (since they wouldn’t allow cameras or attached gopros) and it turned out that not only did they want 30 dollars for the pics, the video was a jumble between our and other tours showing clips of other groups doing things. Just stupid.

I guess its on us for not researching the option they offered better, we would just like to issue a warning to others that they don’t seem to care much if you’re happy as a customer and do. not. fall. for. the. downgrade. scam.

Best of luck to you looking for rafting, hopefully you read this before you book.

We liked Mark, he brought this review from terrible to poor.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Hannes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

What an amazing adventure!! Had so much fun with our experienced guide (can’t remember his name, from South Africa). Thanks so much for not keeping us in “time out”!!! Haha. Started off with a fun bus ride complete with amazing views of mountains, rivers, and Lord of the Rings scenes, followed by an awesome 2 hour ride down the famous Shotover river with rapids, goats, and bungee jumpers! So much fun, highly recommend!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank whitwhitwhatwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GO Orange also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to GO Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing