We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and a fantastic location ”
Review of Botswana Butchery

Botswana Butchery
Ranked #24 of 299 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$104
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Delicious food and wine along with excellent service and a spectacular view - a must visit when you’re in Queenstown!
If it’s a mild night definitely sit outside - it’s amazing!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Vandeimanland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 3,483 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Botswana Butchery is without doubt a premium restaurant. It’s location is fantastic but once shown to your table by the team members, the food experience begins. The explanation of the menu was excellent, the food was excellent and the overall experience our table enjoyed was of the highest level of satisfaction.
We all really recommend this establishment!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing restaurant. We didn't book so understandably was full when we arrived but they found us a table upstairs at the bar which was even better!
There was 4 of us eating and all dishes were amazing and desserts incredible.
Comprehensive local wine list and the wine recommended was very good.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gailcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Saturday night and a arrived at what looked to be a classy restaurant. We ordered the Goat Curry and Grilled Market Fish of the day, which was Hapuka. When the fish came out it looked lovely. Unfortunately, it was undercooked so we called the waiter over. He immediately apologised and took both our meals back. We thought this was a good sign. When our meals were retunrned, the goat was delicious, rich and full of flavour. However, there was now a smaller piece of fish, which had been over cooked, half the amount of vegetables and no garnishes, which had not been eaten earlier. It looked and tasted very under par. Perhaps the chef was unhappy and decided to let us know it. So very disappointed. It’s not a cheap restaurant and it should have been better. Also, at another table, some young men were drinking beer from bottles. Not ok in a fine dining restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank TwoHams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We go back and forth with either this dinner or a dinner from a Master Chef from our luxurious lodge in Waiheke being our absolute favorite.

This was truly incredible. The whole experience was Devine. The restaurant is in an older, remodeled building. Very quaint. It is in a prime location that overlooks the water and is away from downtown hustle.

We first sat outside for a cocktail by their outdoor fireplace. Then moved to a special table (because it is our honeymoon) that overlooked the water.

We were given a fabulous waiter from France. I wish I could remember his name. He took care of our every need and was extremely personable. Answering questions about the area, the history of the restaurant, wine in the area, etc.

We had a gorgeous Pinot upon his recommendation. (See pic below)

For dinner we had gnocchi and green lipped muscles to start. (Incredible) I had filet and Geoff had the Fish of the day (Jack Dorey). We had roasted cheese cauliflower on the side to split and a gorgeous, simple salad. Geoff’s was INCREDIBLE! And I wish I had gotten the fish. My filet with peppercorn sauce was fantastic. His was just so over the top amazing.

For dessert they gave us a special honeymoon congratulations plate on the house. It was so thoughtful.

Please make reservations here. It was worth every penny.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank sheriandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Botswana Butchery also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Botswana Butchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing