We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did0123
New Zealand

The most perfect place to stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Mar 2017via mobile
We are here currently and have been for 3 nights.

We are in the wee units near the main house as Or hard Cottage was booked and can't praise it highly enough.

It's a home away from home with Jane the hostess going out of her way to make everything lovely.

Lots of little touches that are far above your usual accommodation such as fresh baking, stamped postcards to send to friends, really comprehensive information about local attractions, freshly picked flowers and herbs, spotlessly clean, lovely big comfy bed, views to die for.

It's position is beautiful, the Remarkables on one side, Coronet Peak on the other, beautiful garden setting thanks to Rogers green fingers.

Arrowtown is walkable, so is Lake Hayes, great cafe and wine cellar round the corner. (Akarua Wines)

I could stay here for a very long time...
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $445
  • Agoda.com
    $435
  • Hotels.com
    $445
12.2 km from The Orchard Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
$360
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $360
  • Agoda.com
    $300
  • Hotels.com
    $360
14.3 km from The Orchard Cottage
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
$249
  • Priceline
    $249
  • Hotels.com
    $249
  • Expedia.com
    $249
9.9 km from The Orchard Cottage
Pool
Restaurant
Entrance
$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $111
  • Priceline
    $127
14.0 km from The Orchard Cottage
Restaurant
Room service
$297
Fully refundable
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $297
  • StayForLong
    $292
  • Expedia.com
    $297
14.6 km from The Orchard Cottage
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$319
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $319
  • ZenHotels.com
    $267
  • Expedia.com
    $320
16.4 km from The Orchard Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$289
  • Priceline
    $289
  • travelup.com
    $294
  • Expedia.com
    $289
14.2 km from The Orchard Cottage
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$274
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $273
  • Hotels.com
    $228
  • Priceline
    $274
15.8 km from The Orchard Cottage
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$195
  • Priceline
    $195
  • Vio.com
    $178
  • Expedia.com
    $195
9.9 km from The Orchard Cottage
Restaurant
Room service
Hotel reception
$199
  • Priceline
    $199
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $188
14.0 km from The Orchard Cottage
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
31
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
31
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2017

This is truly a piece of paradise. The most delightful cottage complete with delightful hosts amidst some of the best scenery in the world. The cottage is more than comfortable. Jane and Roger have thought of everything to make this a perfect place to be - fresh herbs; fresh muffins; a bowl for popcorn and the wherewithal to make it; plush dressing gowns; a kitchen equipped for a chef!; reading material and games to keep you entertained for days without having to leave and all this within a minute of great restaurants, cafes, wineries (there is one literally 'around the corner'). The only drawback at all is being torn between wanting to sight-see but not wanting to leave such a comfortable and magic place. I wouldn't look to stay anywhere else in the Wakatipu Basin -this is it!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 631CarolineP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We stayed in the accommodation attached to the house last year and loved our stay so much with Jane and Roger that we came back again this year. The two bedroomed cottage is lovely but a cheaper option is the one bedroomed accommodation we stayed in with lovely views of the Remarkables.

You won't get a warmer welcome anywhere else and Jane provides lots of little extras with flowers, treats and even postcards! Nothing is too much trouble and there is also access to a washing machine which was useful when travelling for several weeks.

You do need a car as it is situated some distance from Queenstown but that is the best bit and nice and close to Arrowtown which is worth visiting.

We loved our stay here and it was just as lovely second time round - highly recommended, you won't be disappointed!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Victoria996
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We didn't stay in the Orchard Cottage as it was booked but instead in the two self contained units attached to the main house. Jane was a fantastic host and the accomodation was lovely and well equipped, and the location was perfect (best to have a car though). Views from the property were stunning. We'll be back!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2016

A wonderful cottage with friendly, helpful hosts who go the extra mile to ensure you enjoy your stay. We appreciated their local knowledge and recommendations on walks, places to see, etc and all the extra thoughtful things Jane does, like home baking, etc. Would certainly recommend staying here and will stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kiwiKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2016

When we arrived Jane greeted us with freshly baked orange and choc chip muffins, and my name was on the welcome sign. We felt right at home imeadiatly. The cottage was warm and inviting everything was perfect and well cared for. Jane checked on us even offering to get any suplies that we needed for dinner the first night. On the third morning she popped in with fresh scones and jam that she had made. Overall our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable. This is one of the special memories that we will always cherish. Thank you Jane

Room tip: Private and quiet cottage
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandieshoe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews