We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
LydiaYus
Singapore, Singapore

Average

Review of Lakeside Motel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Mar 2024
Motel is a short walk to town with lake view which is excellent.
However room is quite small with appliances in the kitchen not working. The kettle is also dirty and smelly.
Rooms were to close to each other that we can hear people's conversations at night.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$224
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $166
  • Hotels.com
    $224
0.8 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$340
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $361
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $361
0.6 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$409
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $350
  • Hotels.com
    $409
1.7 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$246
Fully refundable
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $246
  • Tripadvisor
    $246
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$395
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $395
  • Agoda.com
    $376
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Lakeside Motel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$199
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $179
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Exterior
Booking.com
$218
  • Tripadvisor
    $218
  • Priceline
  • travelup.com
    $219
0.7 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $169
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $169
5.9 km from Lakeside Motel
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $169
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $169
5.9 km from Lakeside Motel
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
20
32
40
24
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
20
32
40
24
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2023 via mobile

Lakeside is in the perfect location, on the lake, just a few minutes walk to all the amenities in the town. We had a view of the lake from our comfortable room. Everything was clean and the shower was fabulous! We arrived at the motel in the morning and they were happy to store our luggage before we were able to check in, as well as after we checked out, because our flight was late afternoon.
Highly recommended!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RoseY118
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2023

I would advise against staying at this hotel, I only wish I had seen the other reviews before I booked and arrived. We didn't even unpack, simply took photos and video and left to try and find safe, clean accomodation in Queenstown on a Friday night. No heating (in July), shower held together with duck tape, tv and remote not working, most lights not working, couch literally falling apart, kitchen disgusting. For $400 per night it is ridiculous. Thankfully Airbnb refunded us after seeing the evidence and I don't think they are on that site now but am sure they are still renting out the apartment. If you paid $100 per night you might be ok about everything wrong with the apartment otherwise don't bother. Exceptionally underwhelming except for the view which you can see but as you share the balcony with 5 other apartments and there are no chairs or anything it's not really suitable to hang out there. I hope they take the reviews into consideration and spend some money on maintenance.

Room tip: Read the reviews and stay somewhere else
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2023

This is the first time ever I have written a review BEFORE I stayed. We cancelled because they lost our first reservation, (we waited a week for the confirmation email which never arrived) then when we had to go through the palaver again, couldn't tell us which floor (ground, second or third) we were going to be on, despite telling them one of the party was disabled. Then, when we realised through reading the reviews that some of the parking was offstreet and no parks were allocated onsite after booking, we requested via the confirmation email that we needed a guarantee of a park as we had two disabled people in our group. They never replied to the email, wouldn't answer their phone during the week - and then finally when they did at 9.10am on the Sunday, told me they weren't interested in anything to do with any booking until 9.30am. I had to ring three times at 9.50 and by then, I'd had enough. I cancelled and went somewhere else.

Room tip: English is their second language and the gentleman we spoke with was very difficult to understand.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank HeatherC3969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2023 via mobile

This filthy , gross old tired glorified backpackers relies solely on its location.
The staff, albeit friendly have no clue, nor do they seem to care.
Stayed reluctantly for 3 nights, never even had our rubbish bin emptied but considering the state of the unit it shouldn’t have surprised me but at $850 I expected at least that.
Mould and dirt everywhere. New beds that were comfortable, but lacked a mattress protector of any kind,kitchen was revolting and I showered with a towel on the floor!
No air con or fan in the room and as the balcony is communal you cannot leave a window open .
I told a staff member that the unit was filthy and he just nodded and smiled and said he would tell someone.
One of the lights on the balcony had exposed wiring( let’s just hope that when it rains, it’s one of the many things that doesn’t work)
Getting to your run down tired unit is a mission on its own . The 3 stars must be in their eyes as it’s nowhere else !

Room tip: Dont do it!
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rollestonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2022

After three trips around the block, in roadworks and one way traffic, we could not find the driveway. Finally, we walked - up a steep stairwell, under the scaffolding, to find an “apartment” no bigger than my bedroom. The bathroom door does not close, the toilet door does not close, the wardrobe door does not stay closed. No bedside tables, no dishwasher detergent, no dishcloth, no oven or laundry as promised. No parking onsite. No rail on the outside stairs. Three of four balcony lights do not work, and the one that does is accessed via the garage next door, which is supposedly off limits. Two of three interior light switches do nothing. A view of the lake is great if you can get between the scaffolding to see. The sound of the upstairs loo flushing makes it sound like you are at the seaside. On the plus side, internet access is free and it’s close to town.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PinotPicasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews