We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Heather C

Not interested in the needs of their clients

Review of Lakeside Motel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Apr 2023
This is the first time ever I have written a review BEFORE I stayed. We cancelled because they lost our first reservation, (we waited a week for the confirmation email which never arrived) then when we had to go through the palaver again, couldn't tell us which floor (ground, second or third) we were going to be on, despite telling them one of the party was disabled. Then, when we realised through reading the reviews that some of the parking was offstreet and no parks were allocated onsite after booking, we requested via the confirmation email that we needed a guarantee of a park as we had two disabled people in our group. They never replied to the email, wouldn't answer their phone during the week - and then finally when they did at 9.10am on the Sunday, told me they weren't interested in anything to do with any booking until 9.30am. I had to ring three times at 9.50 and by then, I'd had enough. I cancelled and went somewhere else.
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: English is their second language and the gentleman we spoke with was very difficult to understand.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$352
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $352
  • Expedia.com
    $349
  • Tripadvisor
    $349
0.6 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$297
Fully refundable
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $297
  • Expedia.com
    $295
  • travelup.com
    $304
0.3 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$319
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $319
  • Agoda.com
    $255
  • Expedia.com
    $317
1.7 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $433
  • Hotels.com
    $421
  • Algotels
    $456
2.8 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $114
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Lakeside Motel
Restaurant
Room service
$274
Fully refundable
  • Algotels
    $262
  • Expedia.com
    $218
  • Hotels.com
    $228
1.0 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$289
  • Tripadvisor
    $287
  • Priceline
  • travelup.com
    $291
0.7 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$236
  • Priceline
    $236
  • Hotels.com
    $236
  • Expedia.com
    $234
5.9 km from Lakeside Motel
Pool
Restaurant
Hotel reception
$199
  • Expedia.com
    $187
  • Agoda.com
    $161
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$195
  • Tripadvisor
    $195
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
5.9 km from Lakeside Motel
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
21
32
40
24
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
32
40
24
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2023 via mobile

This filthy , gross old tired glorified backpackers relies solely on its location.
The staff, albeit friendly have no clue, nor do they seem to care.
Stayed reluctantly for 3 nights, never even had our rubbish bin emptied but considering the state of the unit it shouldn’t have surprised me but at $850 I expected at least that.
Mould and dirt everywhere. New beds that were comfortable, but lacked a mattress protector of any kind,kitchen was revolting and I showered with a towel on the floor!
No air con or fan in the room and as the balcony is communal you cannot leave a window open .
I told a staff member that the unit was filthy and he just nodded and smiled and said he would tell someone.
One of the lights on the balcony had exposed wiring( let’s just hope that when it rains, it’s one of the many things that doesn’t work)
Getting to your run down tired unit is a mission on its own . The 3 stars must be in their eyes as it’s nowhere else !

Room tip: Dont do it!
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rollestonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2022

After three trips around the block, in roadworks and one way traffic, we could not find the driveway. Finally, we walked - up a steep stairwell, under the scaffolding, to find an “apartment” no bigger than my bedroom. The bathroom door does not close, the toilet door does not close, the wardrobe door does not stay closed. No bedside tables, no dishwasher detergent, no dishcloth, no oven or laundry as promised. No parking onsite. No rail on the outside stairs. Three of four balcony lights do not work, and the one that does is accessed via the garage next door, which is supposedly off limits. Two of three interior light switches do nothing. A view of the lake is great if you can get between the scaffolding to see. The sound of the upstairs loo flushing makes it sound like you are at the seaside. On the plus side, internet access is free and it’s close to town.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PinotPicasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2022

Omg! The only good thing I can say is that it was the last available room in town. Had I known how bad it would be I would have taken the money and bought a tent! Filthy dirty. The property is run by Indians ( from India) and I’m guessing their standard of clean is different over there because this is not even close to NZ’s.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2022

Upon arrival at this acclaimed 3.5 star rated motel that looks like it should be available "per hour" rather then a nightly rate.
Dragging your suitcase down the exterior skinny pathway covered in torn shabby bird netting and dodging open windows with razor sharp corners you will enjoy getting smacked in the face by the over powering aroma of cheap air freshener used to disguise a smell that can only be described as 1000 sports socks after a marathon through a sewage pond.
First impression of the room is "suitable" but cramped. You can squeeze between the bed and table if your a skinny 5 year child. Keep your shoes on in the room or your feet will be black after walking on the carpet.
You will find mould EVERYWHERE!!!!! the walls and door have significant signs of water damage and are peeling and falling apart, the fridge was frozen up due to stuffed door seals.
You'll want to admire the amazing view of the lake by heading out onto the balcony, you'll share this experience with everyone else as its a shared balcony with 5 other rooms. There are no seats or tables so enjoy your view while standing.
If you want to leave windows open in an attempt to rid the room of the smell, don't leave any valuables as anyone can access the room.
The room is advertised as self contained, we had one plastic cup and one broken glass, very basic utensils and we had to clean everything before using it.
DONT count on getting a park if you have a vehicle, we were lucky to get one of only 10 parks available. They offer "free street parking" but you wont get a park within 2kms of the motel.
If you do manage to fall asleep with the serenading sounds of traffic outside your room, you'll be pleasantly woken with beams of bright light streaming into your room through the paper thin curtains from the flood lights used to illuminate the motel all night.
Our stay in September saw some very cold nights and we were grateful for the plug-in bar heater to prevent hyperthermia however, this was not safe to leave on when away from the room and added a nice "red light district" feel as the heater added to the illumination of the room.
My advice to anyone thinking of staying here.......DONT!!!
This would be suitable accommodation for $80 per night but not $200.
After staying here for two nights our family is now up to date with out tetanus shots.

Room tip: Just dont stay here
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Powerfish2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2022

Staff are amazing here, very helpful and accommodating when our flights were cancelled and then we got covid. We were able to extend our stay for a discounted rate.

We stayed in 2 types of rooms.

2 bedroom unit - good size living area, bathroom had been updated, kitchenette tiny but very functional.

Family studio - good size with 2 double beds, updated bathroom, kitchenette tiny and functional.

Views from all motel rooms of the lake.

Only criticism is that it is an old building and not completely watertight. Windows were wet every morning and some mould around the doorways. Hopefully this will be fixed in the future.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bendalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews