We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ami I

DO NOT BOOK

Review of Lakeside Motel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jun 2022
Not trustworthy business. They are communicative until they owe you a refund - and they ghost you. We had to go there in person to finally receive the refund they owed us. I would not recommend this place to a drawing dog.
Date of stay: May 2022
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$369
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $369
  • Agoda.com
    $368
  • Hotels.com
    $369
1.7 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$339
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $339
  • Hotel Website
    $426
  • Hotels.com
    $339
0.2 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
$375
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $301
  • Agoda.com
    $242
  • Hotels.com
    $359
1.0 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$403
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    $403
  • Algotels
    $395
  • Expedia.com
    $405
0.3 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$369
  • Expedia.com
    $369
  • Prestigia.com
    $363
  • travelup.com
    $373
0.7 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$475
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $477
  • Hotels.com
    $475
  • Vio.com
    $475
2.8 km from Lakeside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$231
  • Mercure
    $231
  • travelup.com
    $233
  • Expedia.com
    $232
1.2 km from Lakeside Motel
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
$280
  • Priceline
    $280
  • Agoda.com
    $280
  • Trip.com
    $280
5.9 km from Lakeside Motel
Pool
Restaurant
Guest room
$299
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $299
  • Agoda.com
    $275
  • Hotels.com
    $299
2.6 km from Lakeside Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$269
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $270
  • Priceline
    $269
  • Doubletree
    $269
6.0 km from Lakeside Motel
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
21
32
40
24
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
32
40
24
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2021 via mobile

Although this motel has a great location it is very very tired. It's probably fine as a cheap backpackers but it wasn't a cheap motel...after deciding not to stay we found another really nice motel for the same price

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Jude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2020

We stayed for 2 nights in a bottom floor unit (unit 2) that had a refurbished bathroom. Room was very cramped with a King and a Queen bed crammed in and nowhere comfortable to sit. Lighting was poor and only two tv channels. Power supply in the kitchen was inappropriate.

The unit was clean, with good towels etc and the desk staff were very helpful.

The unit needs refurbishing (other than the bathroom)

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Compass621487
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2020 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom family room (top floor) in the July school holidays. The accommodation was cheap for 2 nights so we didn’t expect much so were quite surprised by the view! It looks straight over the lake. The unit was clean and tidy however was quite dated and in need of an upgrade.
It was a shame that there were only 2 TV stations! And a few dated DVDs only available. Car parking was quite small so we were happy that it was only a 3 min walk into town so we didn’t need to move it.
Overall it was a good experience we just hope that these are updated in the future as they are in a great location for families!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank KayleeA174
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2020

Very basic, but clean and large rooms with a beautiful view of Lake Wakatipu. Easy walking distance to all the restaurants and attractions of Queenstown. There is a hostel just behind the motel and some motel rooms can be noisy until these lodgers wear out. The reception staff was very accommodating to changes that needed to be made in our reservation because of new travel restrictions.

Room tip: Lower floors and away from the stairs to the hostel are best.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Endicott_Redbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2019 via mobile

What an awesome place to stay
Right price clean comfortable a bit dated but cooking facilities bathroom was freshly refurbished and modern
If It was summer you could just sit on shared balcony and stare at the view

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank mojo0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
QueenstownLakefront, Front Office Manager at Lakeside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2019

Hi Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I'm so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and our view.

We hope to see you come back soon, especially in the summer to use the balcony.

Kindest regards,
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews