We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much fun, great crew” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nomad Safaris

Nomad Safaris
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.05*
and up
Glenorchy Movie Locations Tour: The Lord of the Rings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nomad Safaris offers guided 4WD and Quad Bike tours around the Queenstown Lakes area. Half or full day and charter options are available. We offer very popular tours to Lord of The Rings filming locations where you can experience the phenomenon that is LOTR. We also run tours to Skippers Canyon or Macetown where you visit old goldmining ghost towns and hear about the unique history of pioneer New Zealand and have a go at goldpanning for yourself.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“So much fun, great crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had so much fun on our quads with this company. Plenty of seat time and separate groups for different skill levels with lots of individual attention. Beautiful scenery included along side the river as well....highly recommended.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Garey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Garey, many thanks for taking the time to provide us with a fantastic review, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your quad safari with us! We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and safe travels back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    107
    25
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true adventure safari packed with thrilling 4WD river crossings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was like a private tour ,with just 4 people. A great overview of the diverse scenery of the Queenstown/Arrowhead area but superb for someone who wants to discover Lord of the Rings filming locations. Philip was our knowledgeable and pleasant guide with extra facts ;like the Skippers track is in the top ten worst roads in the world to drive on!
We loved very minute, a truly amazing unforgettable time C and J ,Barnsley, England

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank carolanne27186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafaris, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Carol, many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and a great review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with Phillip and will certainly pass your kind words on to him. We would like to ask though why you have only given us 2 stars as your review sounds like you had an excellent time! If there was anything you were unhappy with or we could have improved on please contact us, we would very much appreciate any further feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and safe travels back to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took a trip to Skippers Canyon, driver professional and informative. Great scenery, deep gorges, but watch out for sand flies.. even found gold but unfortunately not enough to pay for the trip. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafaris, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Andrew, many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and a great review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us into Skippers Canyon, awesome to hear you found a bit of gold too! We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Half Day Film Location Tour to Glenorchy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful half day tour of some Lord of the Rings filming locations! My fiance and I are huge Lord of the Rings fans (as well as Marvel fans), so this tour was right up our alley! We saw some VERY recognizable locations at several stops throughout the tour (including Rohan and the "Po-Tat-Oes" scene location) as well as breathtaking views of Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Badger was our tour guide. A Tolkien nerd himself, he knew exactly what he was talking about: giving us some background info on the area, the locals and some first hand filming info that most people wouldn't know. He was fun, energetic and helpful (like I said, he knew the area well). The tour itself was about 4 hours and you drive from location to location in a 4x4 vehicle (our Jeep's name was Balin- so cool!). At the end of the tour, after we leave Isengard, we had some delicious tea and snacks for Elevensies in Lothlorien. Overall, I highly recommend this tour for any LOTR fan or for anyone who wants to get out to Gleonorchy (a gorgeous little town!). You won't be disappointed!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafaris, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Kaitlyn, many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and a fantastic review! We're delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable time with Badger and we will certainly pass your kind words on to him. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and safe travels back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
270 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Excellent half day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was only two of us in the Land Rover besides our driver, Dominic. He was an excellent driver and guide and it was a great experience. We really enjoyed the driving in the river near Arrowstown and panning for gold. We were surprised to get a cup of tea and a slice of banana loaf which were excellent. The drive on Skippers Creek road was an experience especially when we kept meeting vehicles coming the other was and having to reverse right on the edge of a sheer drop. A really worthwhile afternoon.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Cheshire174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Many thanks Cheshire for taking the time to provide us with such a great review! We loved hearing your feedback and are delighted to hear you enjoyed Wakatipu Basin Tour with us! We're certainly very lucky to live in such a beautiful town with such diverse scenery, and love sharing it will our customers. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and safe travels back home :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nomad Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Nomad Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing