We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent half day”
Review of Nomad Safaris

Nomad Safaris
Book In Advance
More Info
US$133.14*
and up
Glenorchy Movie Locations Tour: The Lord of the Rings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nomad Safaris offers guided 4WD and Quad Bike tours around the Queenstown Lakes area. Half or full day and charter options are available. We offer very popular tours to Lord of The Rings filming locations where you can experience the phenomenon that is LOTR. We also run tours to Skippers Canyon or Macetown where you visit old goldmining ghost towns and hear about the unique history of pioneer New Zealand and have a go at goldpanning for yourself.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
277 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Excellent half day”
Reviewed 10 March 2017

There was only two of us in the Land Rover besides our driver, Dominic. He was an excellent driver and guide and it was a great experience. We really enjoyed the driving in the river near Arrowstown and panning for gold. We were surprised to get a cup of tea and a slice of banana loaf which were excellent. The drive on Skippers Creek road was an experience especially when we kept meeting vehicles coming the other was and having to reverse right on the edge of a sheer drop. A really worthwhile afternoon.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Cheshire174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review, 12 March 2017
Many thanks Cheshire for taking the time to provide us with such a great review! We loved hearing your feedback and are delighted to hear you enjoyed Wakatipu Basin Tour with us! We're certainly very lucky to live in such a beautiful town with such diverse scenery, and love sharing it will our customers. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and safe travels back home :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    112
    25
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great way to see the remote countryside”
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Outstanding road trip. 4X4 vehicles take you into the back country with the views are amazing. There are several stops along the way to take in the views and the guide is great at explaining the history of the trails with regards to gold mining. A stop along the riverbed provided an opportunity to pan for gold.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank johnellisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the adventure with us. The off road riding, river crossings and gold panning are always great fun and really add to the experience. Thank you John for your feedback :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“skippers Canyon”
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Great trip with Nomad Safaris. It was a 4 wheel drive trip. Very exciting. Hamish( our leader) and Dominic and Justin were friendly gave lots of information and it was a fun four hours. Thoroughly recommend it for a great day out. Fantastic scenery, panning for gold and afternoon tea.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
We areThank you Mary for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed the adventure with us to such an extent and we will be sure to pass on your praises to Hamish, Dominic and Justin :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“4x4 trip”
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Did a Lord of the rings 4x4 trip. Lady called Jenny was the driver and she was superb. Great handling of frodo (the car) She was funny and informative. Great few hours spent doing this

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank RGriff2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafaris, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review, 7 March 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to write us an excellent review, and a big thank you for the 5 stars! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your Safari with Jenny, and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Exhilarating view of Skippers Canyon”
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We experienced an awesome 4WD half day trip with Justin as our delightful, respectful and humorous tour guide. We were lucky to experience it with another very sympathetic couple, Nick and Nancy from Chicago. The sights were exhilarating as we drove through a very rugged road up to view Skippers Canyon. Justin gave us his commentary of the historic gold mining in the area. His humour and respect of others made it a wonderful experience. We would recommend this trip to everyone who visits the Queenstown area.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Gibert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review, 6 March 2017
Hi Gibert, many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and an excellent review! We're delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable time into Skipper's Canyon with us, we will certainly pass your kind words on to Justin. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and visit us again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nomad Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Nomad Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing