We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wakatipu Safari - A Great Way to see Queenstown”
Review of Nomad Safaris

Nomad Safaris
Book In Advance
More Info
US$662.25*
and up
Full-Day Routeburn Track Guided Hike from...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nomad Safaris offers guided 4WD and Quad Bike tours around the Queenstown Lakes area. Half or full day and charter options are available. We offer very popular tours to Lord of The Rings filming locations where you can experience the phenomenon that is LOTR. We also run tours to Skippers Canyon or Macetown where you visit old goldmining ghost towns and hear about the unique history of pioneer New Zealand and have a go at goldpanning for yourself.
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I had a fab half day with Cameron from Nomad Safaris on Sunday . I was fortunate enough to get a taste of Otago’s rugged weather conditions with a mix of showers, cloudy and sunshine.
My camera had a ball. Cameron certainly knew a lot about the region. If you don’t have a vehicle and want to see the Wakatipu Basin, the Nomad Safari is a MUST. And if you are a Lord of the Rings fan, then you will certainly enjoy this trip as you get to go to so many areas on where LOTR was filmed.
He took us out of Queenstown and up The Remarkables Mountain range, where we got a fantastic view of Deer Park Heights, used as the filming location for the refugees of Rohan and the Battle of the Wargs scenes. Awesome views of the Lake Wakatipu and surrounding mountains. Then off to the Kawarau Gorge, up through a Chard Farm where we could see the Kawerau Bridge and AJ Hacketts Bungy. Then into Arrowtown – an absolute MUST as it is beautiful. We even got to ride through rivers and streams which was very exciting. Gold Panning was on the list, however the heavens pened up, so we all opted to go for morning tea and a good 30minutes look around the shops.. From Arrowtown we travelled up Coronet Peak to the entrance of Skippers Canyon, which was spectacular – even with the rain, it was so moody, Skippers Canyon offered the most amazing panoramic views of the Canyon and the Wakatipu Basin and in to Skippers Canyon.
If you don’t have a vehicle this trip is a MUST!! or if you just want time out to see the region, then do it - these guys are great

Thank Ro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Ro R, Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. This tour is one of our most popular and has lots of variety - views from on high, river crossings, LOTR, gold panning and refreshments. In addition your tour had Cam - one of our great guides with knowledge as expansive as the views! The weather can certainly add to the atmosphere of a tour and the changes can create some amazing photographic opportunities. Again, thank you for spending time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gold panning"
in 63 reviews
"skippers canyon"
in 92 reviews
"quad biking"
in 42 reviews
"rings tour"
in 59 reviews
"lotr tour"
in 52 reviews
"wings"
in 209 reviews
"land rover"
in 27 reviews
"wakatipu basin tour"
in 17 reviews
"off roading"
in 25 reviews
"filming locations"
in 32 reviews
"pan for gold"
in 21 reviews
"afternoon tour"
in 16 reviews
"lotr fans"
in 24 reviews
"queenstown hill"
in 33 reviews
"new zealand"
in 65 reviews
"guide chris"
in 9 reviews
"four wheel drive"
in 11 reviews
Filter

762 - 766 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I absolutely loved this trip. Chris took us up to Macetown and along the way we forded rivers, slipped and slid through mud, and climbed some inconceivably steep rock. I've gone off-roading in a Jeep Cherokee and this is in a whole different class. Our Defender felt like a tank!

We also got some great history in Macetown. We stopped by the gold stamper, checked out the restored bakehouse, and tried our hand at panning gold. Overall a great trip!

Thank HikinAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

HikinAndy, Thank you for taking the time to review our company and tours. The trip to Macetown is indeed very exciting and some of the best 4WDing in New Zealand. This tour gives a great insight into the pioneer gold mining history of the Wakatipu and if you are lucky you might find some gold in your pan. I am still looking for that elusive nugget! Glad you had a great time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had one LOTR fan on board, one who had seen the movies and 3 who had not but still had a great day out on their LOTR tours. We combined two of their tours to make a whole day of it. First up was down to Glenorchy and Paradise with a stop in the same forest that Boromir fled through - fabulous scenery. Our guide, Paul, was excellent. He could talk plants with the gardener on board, could give great LOTR anecdotes to the LOTR fan, had a great knowledge of local wines and could keep the younger ones interested with tales of the pioneer past. We were dropped off in town for lunch and then were lucky to get Paul again for the second tour - up to the top of the Remarkables for a stunning view, along a dirt road to Coronet Peak and Skipper's Canyon and gold panning in the river after a bit of 4-wheel driving through it (yes, we actually found gold!) - and, of course, plenty of spots where LOTR was filmed - Misty Mountains etc. The tours weren't cheap but were value for money. Highly recommend even for non-LOTR fans.

Thank barneyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Barneyboots, Thank you very much indeed for your very well written review. Great to hear that you had fun with us. Your experience is typical of the mix of passengers we have on board our vehicles and show why every trip is different. We employ guides who have a wide experience of life and are able to talk knowledgeably as well as be very entertaining. Doing both tours in one day gives a wonderful overview of this area and all its wonderful variety - history, nature, LOTR, views, scenery, 4WDing - there is so much to do in one day, and we are very happy you chose us to do it with. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went on this yesterday - it was a terrible waste of time and money. Despite claiming to tailor the experience to your skill level, we were all lumped in with the beginners and the timid. We rode in single file lines at the very slowest pace possible. We rode up a hill, had a cup of coffee and rode our brakes back down the hill. All this for $255. The views are indeed spectacular but views are what you do on your break not on the ride. I have ridden ATV's in several other countries and this experience rates the lowest. Save yourself the grief and stay away from this tour.

2  Thank kmaster532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Kelvin, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your quad bike tour with us. All of our customers are assessed at the start of the trip, and the guides decide how to run each tour based on the ability of the riders. In this instance it was decided to keep everyone together as all abilities were considered similar. The price is actually $245 rather than $255 and the very large majority of our customers have an absolutely brilliant time with us considering it a highlight of their Queenstown visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Although I've seed LOTR, I was mostly interested in the variety of scenery on both the Glenorchy and Lake Wakatipu tours. Our guide for Glenorchy, Marlene, answered my (too?) many questions about the natural formations and the plant life. She was knowledgeable, friendly, a great driver, and detailed in her explanations of the LOTR scenes. I'd hoped to be on her tour of Lake Wakatipu that afternoon, but I was with Cameron instead, and what a great ride that was. He's an amazing driver, and even I felt safe sitting in the front seat as we drove through Ford Bruinen and up into the mountains to see castle and lighthouse rocks. We even managed to find some gold flecks while panning in the river. Both trips are worth every penny! One of the highlights of our 3 week trip through New Zealand.

Thank spritecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hello Spritecat! Thank you for writing a review for our Trip Advisor page. And thank you very much for enjoying our trips! Although we agree with you and think it is hard not to...All our guides have great knowledge and love sharing it with our customers. Both Marlene and Cam are excellent guides and love showing people our beautiful country. The two LOTR trips combined make for a wonderful day out, and the scenery in each is very different, with goldpanning, refreshments and lots of info to keep everyone entertained. We love that it was a highlight of your visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nomad Safaris also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Nomad Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing