We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Nomad Safaris
from US$134.10
More Info
from US$134.10
More Info
from US$189.12
More Info
from US$134.10
More Info
Reviews (1,064)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveller rating
742
132
32
22
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
132
32
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold panning skippers canyon rings tour lotr tour quad bikes wings land rover wakatipu basin pan for gold day safari off roading filming locations queenstown hill lotr fans new zealand behind the scenes great tour
Filter
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 949 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had one LOTR fan on board, one who had seen the movies and 3 who had not but still had a great day out on their LOTR tours. We combined two of their tours to make a whole day of it. First up was down to Glenorchy and Paradise with a stop in the same forest that Boromir fled through - fabulous scenery. Our guide, Paul, was excellent. He could talk plants with the gardener on board, could give great LOTR anecdotes to the LOTR fan, had a great knowledge of local wines and could keep the younger ones interested with tales of the pioneer past. We were dropped off in town for lunch and then were lucky to get Paul again for the second tour - up to the top of the Remarkables for a stunning view, along a dirt road to Coronet Peak and Skipper's Canyon and gold panning in the river after a bit of 4-wheel driving through it (yes, we actually found gold!) - and, of course, plenty of spots where LOTR was filmed - Misty Mountains etc. The tours weren't cheap but were value for money. Highly recommend even for non-LOTR fans.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank barneyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Barneyboots, Thank you very much indeed for your very well written review. Great to hear that you had fun with us. Your experience is typical of the mix of passengers we have on board our vehicles and show why every trip is different. We employ guides who have a wide experience of life and are able to talk knowledgeably as well as be very entertaining. Doing both tours in one day gives a wonderful overview of this area and all its wonderful variety - history, nature, LOTR, views, scenery, 4WDing - there is so much to do in one day, and we are very happy you chose us to do it with. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went on this yesterday - it was a terrible waste of time and money. Despite claiming to tailor the experience to your skill level, we were all lumped in with the beginners and the timid. We rode in single file lines at the very slowest pace possible. We rode up a hill, had a cup of coffee and rode our brakes back down the hill. All this for $255. The views are indeed spectacular but views are what you do on your break not on the ride. I have ridden ATV's in several other countries and this experience rates the lowest. Save yourself the grief and stay away from this tour.

Date of experience: January 2014
2  Thank kmaster532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Kelvin, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your quad bike tour with us. All of our customers are assessed at the start of the trip, and the guides decide how to run each tour based on the ability of the riders. In this instance it was decided to keep everyone together as all abilities were considered similar. The price is actually $245 rather than $255 and the very large majority of our customers have an absolutely brilliant time with us considering it a highlight of their Queenstown visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Although I've seed LOTR, I was mostly interested in the variety of scenery on both the Glenorchy and Lake Wakatipu tours. Our guide for Glenorchy, Marlene, answered my (too?) many questions about the natural formations and the plant life. She was knowledgeable, friendly, a great driver, and detailed in her explanations of the LOTR scenes. I'd hoped to be on her tour of Lake Wakatipu that afternoon, but I was with Cameron instead, and what a great ride that was. He's an amazing driver, and even I felt safe sitting in the front seat as we drove through Ford Bruinen and up into the mountains to see castle and lighthouse rocks. We even managed to find some gold flecks while panning in the river. Both trips are worth every penny! One of the highlights of our 3 week trip through New Zealand.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank spritecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hello Spritecat! Thank you for writing a review for our Trip Advisor page. And thank you very much for enjoying our trips! Although we agree with you and think it is hard not to...All our guides have great knowledge and love sharing it with our customers. Both Marlene and Cam are excellent guides and love showing people our beautiful country. The two LOTR trips combined make for a wonderful day out, and the scenery in each is very different, with goldpanning, refreshments and lots of info to keep everyone entertained. We love that it was a highlight of your visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Toured various sites where many movies were filmed like Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit. Learned how many of the residents were in the movie.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank lmgmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hello! Thank you for your great review of our tour. We are very happy that you had fun with us and enjoyed the service we offer. We very much enjoy telling people all about the films and how closely they are linked with Queenstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our tour guide and driver Flip made us all welcome on picking us up. Nothing was too much trouble. It helps if you have seen Lord of The Rings, as many of the locations were used in the films. The Remarkables have also been used as many other film locations. Great scenery, the sun came out. Stopped as long as we wanted for photos and Flip was always offered to take photos of the two of us and answered any questions we had. Also she had photos of the film scences which acted as a reminder if not an avid Lord of the Rings fan. A great half day trip which included going to Glenorchy which was at the end of the Lake. Had a great stop for coffee and cake which was made at a stop from truck.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Frances_collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Frances, Thank you very much indeed for this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your tour with us. We love being able to pass great feedback on to our guides. Every tour is different depending on the clients on board, and we aim to match the content to each person's interests. Photos are a huge part of the memories of a holiday to our beautiful area, and it is great that Flip took lots of snaps of you together. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews