We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quad Biking - Terrible & Boring”
Review of Nomad Safaris

Nomad Safaris
Book In Advance
More Info
US$662.11*
and up
Full-Day Routeburn Track Guided Hike from...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nomad Safaris offers guided 4WD and Quad Bike tours around the Queenstown Lakes area. Half or full day and charter options are available. We offer very popular tours to Lord of The Rings filming locations where you can experience the phenomenon that is LOTR. We also run tours to Skippers Canyon or Macetown where you visit old goldmining ghost towns and hear about the unique history of pioneer New Zealand and have a go at goldpanning for yourself.
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went on this yesterday - it was a terrible waste of time and money. Despite claiming to tailor the experience to your skill level, we were all lumped in with the beginners and the timid. We rode in single file lines at the very slowest pace possible. We rode up a hill, had a cup of coffee and rode our brakes back down the hill. All this for $255. The views are indeed spectacular but views are what you do on your break not on the ride. I have ridden ATV's in several other countries and this experience rates the lowest. Save yourself the grief and stay away from this tour.

2  Thank kmaster532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Kelvin, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your quad bike tour with us. All of our customers are assessed at the start of the trip, and the guides decide how to run each tour based on the ability of the riders. In this instance it was decided to keep everyone together as all abilities were considered similar. The price is actually $245 rather than $255 and the very large majority of our customers have an absolutely brilliant time with us considering it a highlight of their Queenstown visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gold panning"
in 63 reviews
"skippers canyon"
in 92 reviews
"quad biking"
in 42 reviews
"rings tour"
in 59 reviews
"lotr tour"
in 52 reviews
"wings"
in 209 reviews
"land rover"
in 27 reviews
"wakatipu basin tour"
in 17 reviews
"off roading"
in 25 reviews
"filming locations"
in 32 reviews
"pan for gold"
in 21 reviews
"afternoon tour"
in 16 reviews
"lotr fans"
in 24 reviews
"queenstown hill"
in 33 reviews
"new zealand"
in 65 reviews
"guide chris"
in 9 reviews
"four wheel drive"
in 11 reviews
Filter

765 - 769 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Although I've seed LOTR, I was mostly interested in the variety of scenery on both the Glenorchy and Lake Wakatipu tours. Our guide for Glenorchy, Marlene, answered my (too?) many questions about the natural formations and the plant life. She was knowledgeable, friendly, a great driver, and detailed in her explanations of the LOTR scenes. I'd hoped to be on her tour of Lake Wakatipu that afternoon, but I was with Cameron instead, and what a great ride that was. He's an amazing driver, and even I felt safe sitting in the front seat as we drove through Ford Bruinen and up into the mountains to see castle and lighthouse rocks. We even managed to find some gold flecks while panning in the river. Both trips are worth every penny! One of the highlights of our 3 week trip through New Zealand.

Thank spritecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hello Spritecat! Thank you for writing a review for our Trip Advisor page. And thank you very much for enjoying our trips! Although we agree with you and think it is hard not to...All our guides have great knowledge and love sharing it with our customers. Both Marlene and Cam are excellent guides and love showing people our beautiful country. The two LOTR trips combined make for a wonderful day out, and the scenery in each is very different, with goldpanning, refreshments and lots of info to keep everyone entertained. We love that it was a highlight of your visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Toured various sites where many movies were filmed like Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit. Learned how many of the residents were in the movie.

Thank lmgmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hello! Thank you for your great review of our tour. We are very happy that you had fun with us and enjoyed the service we offer. We very much enjoy telling people all about the films and how closely they are linked with Queenstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our tour guide and driver Flip made us all welcome on picking us up. Nothing was too much trouble. It helps if you have seen Lord of The Rings, as many of the locations were used in the films. The Remarkables have also been used as many other film locations. Great scenery, the sun came out. Stopped as long as we wanted for photos and Flip was always offered to take photos of the two of us and answered any questions we had. Also she had photos of the film scences which acted as a reminder if not an avid Lord of the Rings fan. A great half day trip which included going to Glenorchy which was at the end of the Lake. Had a great stop for coffee and cake which was made at a stop from truck.

Thank Frances_collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Frances, Thank you very much indeed for this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your tour with us. We love being able to pass great feedback on to our guides. Every tour is different depending on the clients on board, and we aim to match the content to each person's interests. Photos are a huge part of the memories of a holiday to our beautiful area, and it is great that Flip took lots of snaps of you together. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Made a last minute decision after the balloon flight was cancelled to go quad biking. Called the guys at 8.15am and they picked me up at 8.30am ! Chris and his buddy were great instructors, the safety stuff was made very clear and the kit including the bikes was in good order. The tracks were great and mixed easy with tricky, in terms of a beginner everything was easily doable. I had a real blast and would recommend these guys and this activity to anyone. The views and scenery of course were A+.

Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadSafarisQT, Public Relations Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thanks for letting us know you had a blast! Come back anytime! We still have lots of tracks from beginners to more advanced for you to play on....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nomad Safaris also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Nomad Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing