We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food with a good view”

The Taj Indian Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 264 Restaurants in Queenstown
Price range: US$8 - US$58
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

The best Indian vegetarian biryani that we have ever had. The rest of the food was very good too. Also, the restaurant is located in main centre with a good view of the Queenstown scenery. The staff and the service was good too.

Thank Mehul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saurabh B, Manager at The Taj Indian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Mehul S

Thank you for taking time to leave a review for us & your amazing 5 Star rating.

We are happy to know that you loved our food, our amazing Lake-views and our Star service team.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back.

Thanks & Regards
Saurabh Bhargava (Sunny)
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

We had a lovely meal of Tikka chicken and Vension Rogan Josh. The flavours were rich and tasty and the meat was tender, delicious. We both agreed it was the best Indian food we have ever had. The price was very reasonable for Queenstown and we had a nice view of the lake from our window seats. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Thank lillyparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saurabh B, Manager at The Taj Indian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear lillyparr

Thank you for taking time to leave a review for us & your wonderful 5 Star rating.

We are glad to know that you loved our food and that you found our prices to be reasonable. We are honored to be a part of your recommended list of restaurants.

We hope to see you again in near future.

Thanks & Regards
Saurabh Bhargava (Sunny)
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We have been here twice in the last couple of months. It is fast becoming our favourite place for dinner on a Friday night. The service is fantastic and the presentation of the food is great, so well set out. The portions are not too big and the flavours sublime. Its very small make sure you reserve a table. We cant wait to go again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiwiduo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saurabh B, Manager at The Taj Indian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Kiwiduo50

Thank you for taking time to leave a review for us & your fantastic 5 Star rating.

We are glad to know that you loved our food, its presentation & our service on both the occasions you were here in last couple of months.

We hope to see you again in near future.

Thanks & Regards
Saurabh Bhargava (Sunny)
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

This is a 5 star Indian restaurant. Different and better than nearly all Indian restaurants I've been to. Hey present in a different way which is excellent. If you like Indian food, then go here.
Reasonably priced which is good for q town.
Only gripe would be I'm not sure hey do a kiwi fav the butter chicken. Would highly recommend however anyway.

1  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saurabh B, Manager at The Taj Indian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Sean H

Thank you for taking time to leave a review for us & your superb 5 Star rating.

We are happy to know that you loved our food and that you rate us as a 5 Star establishment. We are pleased to know that we were able to showcase our difference to other Indian restaurants while you were here. Lovely to know that you found us value for money restaurant. We do the kiwi fav Butter Chicken but more authentic style rather that westernized version of the dish. Thank you for recommending us.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in near future.

Thanks & Regards
Saurabh Bhargava (Sunny)
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Not generally a fan of Indian food, but went here with my wife recently based on reviews, and must agree with others that this is an excellent restaurant. Had a lamb meatball main with white rice while my wife the vegetarian went with one of their paneer dishes. We shared a panko coated pepper starter and blue cheese naan. Enjoyed a glass of wine during dinner and chai afterwards. Service was also excellent and prices were not cheap but reasonable. One caveat - the place is tiny with only 7 tables. You won't get in for dinner at peak hours without a reservation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fitzfam51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saurabh B, Manager at The Taj Indian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear fitzfam51

Thank you for taking time to leave a review for us & your amazing 5 Star rating.

We are glad to know that you loved our food. We are excited to know that we were able to justify our Online ranking and you were equally pleased like many others.

We hope to serve you again in near future.

Thanks & Regards
Saurabh Bhargava (Sunny)
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Taj Indian Kitchen also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Taj Indian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing