We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Ultimate Hikes tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Queenstown
from US$165.03
More Info
from US$139.75
More Info
from US$168.54
More Info
from US$68.82
More Info
Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveller rating
841
44
10
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
841
44
10
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand traverse milford track guided walk mckinnon pass drying room hot shower day hike fellow hikers comfortable beds walking poles own pace sandfly point routeburn trek heavy pack doc huts lake mackenzie hiking experience
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 902 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

This was absolutely one of the best parts of our honeymoon. My husband and I did the 4/5 day Milford Track & enjoyed every moment. We were definitely the youngest couple without parents on the trip - which initially worried me - however it turned out great! We could have definitely done the hike unguided but honestly the food and the hot shower at the end of the day made the world of difference! It made the hike so much more enjoyable to have a drying room at the end of the day along with the shower. When we originally set off we were also worried about the number of people on the track with us - but literally we saw no one else most days. At some points of time we were all hours apart. I would not recommend doing this hike guided though if you are not interested in meeting new people - you eat dinner every night with a group of people - so you are making new connections all the time. The track is absolutely beautiful the whole time!!! Enjoy all the scenery.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank 294StephanieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

This is the best hike we have experienced. The fantastic views, the very nice lodges, delicious food and pleasant, helpful, efficient guides and staff contributed to a wonderful hiking experience. Although it rained on the last day of the hike - it did not deter from the amazing views and you feel like the walk & adventure was truly worth it. I highly recommend Ultimate Hikes to anyone who is keen to do the Milford Sound guided hike. Judging from this experience - we are very likely to do the Routeburn Hike with them in the furture. The guides deserve 6 stars out of 5! Keep up the good work.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Desa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Ok...we were incredibly lucky with the weather but even with rain this walk is simply amazing in every way. We are a fittish couple - wife 46 and Moi 52 and even though it sounds daunting in everything from the brochures to the briefings, its actually not that hard a walk...especially if the weather is great.

The 3 days of walking saw us finish around 1pm every day with some walkers finish much later even 7:30ish...the great thing is you can walk at whatever pace you like and not feel as though you are part of a big group.

With warm showers, fresh linen and comfy beds waiting along with a beer, wine and 3 course meal this is the best form of trekking for those wanting a balance between roughing it and glamming it.

The group was large at 50ppl with 24 from Japan, however this was fine as you walked we simply walked with either a guide, one other walker or on our own.

The views are unbelievable and you simply must do this walk even if you have never trekked before.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank deansmallman911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Walking the Milford Track with Ultimate Hikes is the perfect experience. We had great guides, a great group and all the comfort we wished. To do a guided tour with them does not mean to stay in a big group al the day. For the start in the morning they gave an early adn a late limit to start, so that all members of the group were walking behind the first guide and in front of the last, not to get lost in the wilderness. There were two more guides moving with the group members in between. They always looked after us, at certain points they explained interesting flora and fauna to us if we wanted so. We never felt lost and could nevertheless feel the remoteness of the place. All that combined with the luxury of a hot shower every day, a real bed with linen in a twin room, hot breakfast in the morning, lunch à volonté to prepare ourselves and a three-course dinner.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank MOH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

My husband turned 60 and we decided we'd do something we'd always talked about doing, walk the Milford Track. Four of us booked on the same day - my husband's sister and her husband - who suggested we snap up the last of the Queen size rooms and places in March. Great decision!! I can't fully express the emotions to describe how great this is, but let me say, the guides (Willem, Phillipa, Charlotte and Kelly) were outstanding and fun. The track itself a marvel although don't be fooled into thinking it's a doddle, it's challenging in some parts, particularly day 3! But oh so worth it and we were blessed with outstanding weather although friends who've done it in the rain also report the same happy experience. We met some amazing people from all around the world. Arriving at the lovely lodges at the end of the day to scones and tea and a friendly face was great. Then a beautiful dinner and re-living the great moments of the day with our new friends. The beauty of the place and the track makes you vibrate happiness. Although our group were 45 people, most of the day you're walking alone or with your significant other as everyone has a different pace. It's one of the experiences in life I will never forget and recall with great fondness. Big ups to Ultimate Hikes, seriously, you guys do a great job and deserve your success. THANK YOU from Dona and Gav

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Sense55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews