We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Capt Robert McKay Gray
Newcastle, Australia

Bathroom Nightmares For Ex-Footballers Or People With Worn Knees

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Nov 2022
In Unit No4 the Bedroom TV didn't work, reported it & was just told, "I'm sorry, must get that fixed".

The bath/shower set-up in Unit No4 is harrowing for any person with restricted movement in their legs .i.e sport person or elderly with worn or damaged knees.

A person has to be able to lift their leg 600mm to get their leg over the lip of bath to gain entry to bath/shower set-up.

With the bath sitting higher than the room floor level, the act of lifting off the bathroom floor with your other leg increases the stress on the knee already planted in the bath.
Date of stay: November 2022
Room Tip: Parking VERY TIGHT, can get blocked easily
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Quadruple Ensuite at the Melbourne Lodge
$279
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $223
  • Vio.com
    $200
  • Hotels.com
    $231
0.2 km from Amity Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$369
  • Expedia.com
    $369
  • travelup.com
    $366
  • Hotels.com
    $369
0.4 km from Amity Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$379
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $379
  • Agoda.com
    $367
  • Priceline
    $379
2.7 km from Amity Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
$350
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $350
  • Algotels
    $343
  • Expedia.com
    $350
0.9 km from Amity Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$340
  • Priceline
    $340
  • Expedia.com
    $340
  • Trip.com
    $340
4.8 km from Amity Serviced Apartments
Pool
Restaurant
Guest room
$279
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $279
  • Agoda.com
    $245
  • Hotels.com
    $279
1.5 km from Amity Serviced Apartments
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotel reception
$328
  • Expedia.com
    $295
  • Agoda.com
    $240
  • Hotels.com
    $295
0.5 km from Amity Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Exterior
$290
  • Mercure
  • Booking.com
    $290
  • Expedia.com
    $290
2.3 km from Amity Serviced Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$319
Fully refundable
  • Doubletree
    $319
  • Expedia.com
    $319
  • Hotels.com
    $319
4.9 km from Amity Serviced Apartments
Restaurant
Room service
Sudima Queenstown Five Mile Remarkable View King room
$195
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Vio.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
    $195
6.3 km from Amity Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveller rating
346
158
33
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
346
158
33
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet street steep hill close to town minute walk self catering stayed for nights large bathroom would stay here again location is great motel unit accommodation kitchen laundry dryer lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2022

We paid 3 200 NZD for 7 days !! . 2 bedroom appartments. Size of appartment was ok.
We got a warm welcome from the reception, it was most probably the owner (seems to be owned by a family). the location is really good, but it offer almost no view, especially us who were at ground floor (only 2 storeys). The appartement is old but clean. Service every second day whcih is good.
Main problem there is the price (probably linked with the shortage of accommodation in QT at the time (and almost everywhere anyway), but definitely a ripp off in term of price. The main problem is that I agreed to book there based on a few fake photos that are on their booking.com site. There is no way the nicest photos have been taken at this property ! no way ! I had a look at the other units, and checked the view.. you can easily say they are fake. that's the bitter part of the stay, if you consider the price..

Room tip: Upstairs, but not much view anyway
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gilloux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2022 via mobile

We booked a Mountain View room and we were not disappointed! The street was under construction but it did not impede access or our views. We were very surprised at how large the rooms were, with a comfortable front/living room space and a large bathroom. It was just my husband and myself so we used the extra twin bed for our bags. There was a small stand alone closet and one luggage rack for use. The breakfast basket was lovely with bread, granola bars, muffins, yogurt, packaged fruit smoothies and apples. Very quiet despite proximity to a chain hotel and the many skiers in town on holiday. It’s a short walk to town and the main area is quite compact so we always elected to walk. Others have noted “the hill” on the way back up. It is steep but fairly short. The room was clean and warm. The tub was a bit high to step into but I’m finding that to be the standard here. Very happy with our stay. Would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cipsyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2022 via mobile

Dirty, I have no idea when was last time they washed the carpet and having a crawling baby it was quite upsetting, last but not least we found a bone in the breakfast bag. It's also on top of the hill, so if you have kids, you still have to take the car to go to town. Won't go back.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ilovegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2022 via mobile

They can't even manage their booking system. Booked directly on their website ahead of school holidays, thought unusual didn't receive email so few weeks out emailed them to follow up, luckily I had screen shot of my booking confirmation. Got this incredibly unhelpful email back from them.

"Your booking is under over booked not to sure website fault or our motel mate.

Sadly we need to cancel your booking as we have no available room for you."

Who refers to a member of the public they've just completely mucked around as mate?

No reply to ask to talk to them no response to calls made. Completely useless.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank cushlam_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2022

I stayed in a spacious and simple one bedroom unit, just a few minutes walk from the bustle of Queenstown central and yet on a really quiet street.

The unit was spotlessly clean and came with everything I needed for basic self-catering. The breakfast supplies (bread, jams, juice, yoghurts) and snacks (muffins, muesli bars) were a delightful surprise and set me up well for days of walking in the mountains.

This isn't the flashiest place in Queenstown but is in a super-convenient location, had everything I needed for a 3 night stay and was really good value for money.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plumbob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews