We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ali_Hawkins
Melbourne, Australia
Nice place, great hospitality
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jan 2021via mobile
There are two great things about this place ... the outlook and the service. I stayed here after completing the Milford Track and it was a welcome stop. Rooms are comfortable and clean, food is good and service is warm, friendly and helpful. The outlook from rooms is wonderful and it’s such a delight to sit, relax after a hot shower and watch the changing view and environment outside. The bar and restaurant couldn’t be more hospitable, with great service, friendly banter and just overall good vibes. It’s a short walk from the Milford Sound Terminal to here along a flat road (you can see if from the bus/boat stop). I wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.
Date of stay: January 2021
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
27.4 km from Mitre Peak Lodge
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Official Site
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $4,917
  • Hotels.com
44.1 km from Mitre Peak Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$124
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
48.5 km from Mitre Peak Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Superior River View Suite at the Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $254
  • eDreams
48.9 km from Mitre Peak Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Strike Bowl
Tripadvisor
$160
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
49.0 km from Mitre Peak Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $525
  • Priceline
49.0 km from Mitre Peak Lodge
Contact accommodation for availability.
48.6 km from Mitre Peak Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge Room
47.3 km from Mitre Peak Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
25.7 km from Mitre Peak Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Milford Sound
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
12
12
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
12
5
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2018 via mobile

The wow! is of course for the views (having a drink at the lodge bar staring at the great Milford Sound in the evening is one of the best experiences after 4 days walking in the rain and the snow), but also for the premises. The lodge has great rooms: nice, clean, comfortable... maybe a bit small but with sufficient space to move around. The staff is very welcoming and friendly. Good breakfast.
Definitely, a haven of peace!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alis77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

We hiked the Milford track through ultimate hikes and what an experience it was!! Mitre peak lodge was a little bit tired but the staff certainly made up for it. And the views, absolutely breathtaking

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Explorer30848447945
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We enjoyed our one-night stay at this lodge on Milford Sound, at the end of our Milford Trek walk. It was so nice to come out of the woods and be able to use the lodge’s dry rooms to dry our clothes and boots, while enjoying the views of the sound from the room, hot shower, comfortable bed, nice bar, and good dinner. Internet was also good, and the lodge is a short walk down the road to the sound and the boats taking people out on cruises. The people were also very friendly and nice (as we found all over NZ!).

Room tip: Try for room upstairs with view of the sound
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We stayed at Mitre Peak Lodge at the last day of our guided Milford Sound hike. The room we had was not only very comfortable and nicely equipped with eco-friendly amenities, we also had a fantastic view of Mitre Peak. To top that, the staff service was pleasant, friendly and efficient.

Room tip: The top floor (North side) have the best view - left hand side when you reach the top of the stairs) and had uninterrupted views.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Desa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Obviously a spectacular location; I had a view from my room directly onto Mitre Peak. What’s wonderful about staying here is that once it’s evening, all the tourists are gone and you really have the place to yourself. The hotel itself is maybe a 3-star, but its location makes up for it.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank enjoytravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews