We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Real Journeys
from US$70.95
More Info
from US$49.45
More Info
Reviews (2,003)
Filter reviews
2,003 results
Traveller rating
1,436
391
96
46
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,436
391
96
46
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise the bus tasman sea te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip fur seals boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,003 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2021

Everything, Had a fantastic day, it was a absolutely fantstic day out, seeing sea life and even a deer on the road over Wilmont Pass. I would highly recommend it.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank 676debsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021

An experience not to be missed! We left from Manapouri by Ferry, then traveled overland via bus for an overnight stay in a very comfortable cabin with an ensuite bathroom and comfortable bed. This trip included afternoon tea, an evening meal, and breakfast -of which there was plentiful and very tasty. There was also access to complimentary tea and coffee throughout the trip. The staff was friendly, informative, and helpful. The scenery was absolutely stunning - what a magical experience, very beautiful and at times quite emotional. A well-organised trip and definitely the highlight of our trip to the South Island.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank nixiplonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Totally brilliant day out on all fronts. Tour guide/coach driver and boat skipper were amazing. Unfortunately for the company, due to the lack of overseas tourists, the amount of people on the tour was a lot less than they would normally have.For our tour it was amazing as we had so much room on the boat up the sound. The boat trip over lake Manapouri was great and the coach ride to meet with our boat to travel up Doubtful Sound was excellent. Would be amazing to do in snowy weather. The cruise up the Sound itself was awe inspiring. We saw a few waterfalls initially but as it started to rain more falls started to appear. DO NOT worry if the weather forecast is for rain.
Do make sure to have rainwear and wear warm clothes. Inside the boat is lovely and warm but you are bound to want to be out on deck at times and it's bracing.
We also purchased the packed lunch option when we booked and i thought it was great value for money.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank suebnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2021 via mobile

Milford Sound is a small sound so a great way to see some of NZ’s most stunning scenery if you only have limited time in NZ.
It’s renowned for rain so go prepared for all seasons. The waterfalls however after a good down pour are also a good reason to go as there are hundreds of them. On a fine day the 2-3 hour trip will show you the famous Mitre Peak and take you out to the Tasman where you maybe lucky enough to see a whale.
Tea and coffee and food are available on board so sit back and enjoy the views whilst the guide points out things of interest to you.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank 854DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2021

Our Flight from Queenstown to Milford return was perfect - Carl the pilot was friendly, informative and made the effort to take us different ways across the expansive Mountains. Our Cruise up the Sound was very enjoyable and the Captain took us where he knew we would get the best experience. Abby was knowledgeable and friendly - even offered to carry my tea upstairs for me! Forget the exhausting road trip into Milford - flying is the way to go!

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank fionanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews