We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A most enjoyable day

Thoroughly enjoyed this day. Drove from Te Anau to Manapouri and boarded cruise on Lake Manapouri... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
nzsnrcitizen
Fantastic Day Out

Everything, Had a fantastic day, it was a absolutely fantstic day out, seeing sea life and even a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
676debsm
,
Queenstown, New Zealand
Read all 1,882 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from US$72.23
More Info
from US$57.64
More Info
from US$94.12
More Info
from US$57.64
More Info
Reviews (1,882)
Filter reviews
1,882 results
Traveller rating
1,356
362
90
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,356
362
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise the bus tasman sea te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip fur seals boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 1,882 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2019 via mobile

Did two trips with this company. Both were mediocre and we were astounded by the rudeness of the staff. Give your money to a different business.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Jhendo2hundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Jhendo2hundo, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed. Unfortunately you don't explain which of our trips you went on or what it was that you found mediocre, so it is difficult for us to investigate and to respond. You also mention the "rudeness of staff", which over two trips could have covered off reservations, check-in staff, plus boat crews or guides. We apologise if you felt our staff weren't courteous, but as you can see from other reviews, our staff receive a lot of praise, especially for their professionalism, local knowledge and friendliness. Thank you for your review and I hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your trip. The Real Journeys Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2019

We took the Milford Wanderer overnight cruise over Easter. While the road journey from Queenstown to Milford Sound was long (but scenic), the main event was ultimately worth every second of the drive time. We were so fortunate to strike beautiful cloudless weather in the Sound - a day earlier the whole region was deluged in rain. All of the mountain peaks were visible in all of their glory. The cruise is a well-oiled operation and not long after departure we were anchored in Harrison Cove where we would spend the night. Out came the kayaks and small tender boats and we had the chance to explore this amazing coastline more closely with the experienced crew. Dinner was sumptuous - like many, I probably ate too much. We had the chance to meet people from all over the world who, like us, had been drawn here to experience something really quite special. The next morning, some of us got up early to watch the daylight begin to filter through the mountains - again a very unique experience. After a great breakfast, the Milford Wanderer traced the fiord out to the Tasman Sea before slowly tracking in again. So much awesome scenery to take in, greatly helped by phenomenal weather (remember this is NZ's wettest location). An awesome Easter weekend, so glad we journeyed here - massive applause to Real Journeys for making this natural showcase so accessible!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank holidaysinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2019

Living in New Zealand, I knew we had a pretty special country - then we visited Milford Sound and it just blew me away. We had mapped out our journey from Te Anau to Milford Sound (we drove ourselves) as there are lots of walks that you can do along the way. Wouldn't you know it - it absolutely bucketed down so those plans were abandoned. But the rain and low clouds made for the most spectacular landscape I have ever seen - it was simply amazing. Going through the Homer Tunnel also made you appreciate the sheer scale of the job that was undertaken all those years ago. The overnight cruise was fantastic as well; rooms are small but perfectly comfortable and have ensuites. The dinner and breakfast were brilliant. There was the option to go on a tender or kayaking - we chose the tender and the information given by the guide was great. We got drenched on account of the rain but it just added to the adventure. Next morning dawned crystal clear so was a total contrast - and it just made the trip. I can't recommend this highly enough - and if you can, do the drive yourself as you have the freedom to stop as you go along the way. Just remember the road rules and drive to the conditions.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank famadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

I had a lot of friends recommend this trip but I have to say it was better than expected. This has to be one of the most beautiful scenic cruises on the planet. The weather was absolutely incredible with clear blue sunny skies. This is rare in this region. A must see trip

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Sdean58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019

we booked a tour that we left queenstown to milford sound by bus. The road trip was great with amazing views. The milford sound trip was great as well, and the lunch buffet was just super. You never imagine such a great buffet on the cruise.

We had a tour guide whose name is Jing and she was so professional in guiding. We loved her.

Highly recommend to book milford sound tour from real journey.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank haox93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews