We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A most enjoyable day

Thoroughly enjoyed this day. Drove from Te Anau to Manapouri and boarded cruise on Lake Manapouri... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
nzsnrcitizen
Fantastic Day Out

Everything, Had a fantastic day, it was a absolutely fantstic day out, seeing sea life and even a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
676debsm
,
Queenstown, New Zealand
Read all 1,882 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from US$71.26
More Info
from US$56.86
More Info
from US$92.85
More Info
from US$56.86
More Info
Reviews (1,882)
Filter reviews
1,882 results
Traveller rating
1,356
362
90
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,356
362
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise the bus tasman sea te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip fur seals boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 1,882 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2018

Just the right number of stops for great shots and stretching legs. Adrian our driver made the time go by faster. The Milford Mariner was the grandest ship of all of the ships on the Sound. Getting up and close to the waterfalls was very cool. Would recommend to everyone who wants a full day experience.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank nittanyninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

We were greeted by the amazing staff and quickly began our overnight stay on the Milford Wanderer. We were treated to curious dolphins, waddling penguins, a quick dip in the water for the brave, outstanding food and the simple majestic Milford Sound. The rain made an amazing show of hundreds of water falls through out the trip and we were also treated to a massive cruise ship which arrived for a look. If it’s pouring rain on your day of journey don’t be discouraged as it’s just breathtaking watching all those waterfalls and you are looked after so well. Pack light but warm and water resistant/ proof clothing and you will be fine. Definitely drive carefully during the 2+ hours trip from Te Anu and you will take longer due to many chances to take photographs . Simply a brilliant way to spend a night.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank tonianddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

After a 2 hour coach journey from Queenstown, again through wonderful scenery, we arrived at Milford Sound for an overnight cruise on the M.V. Mariner. Compared to the other ghastly modern boats moored up, the Mariner looked the business-you know, rigging, bowsprit etc. We were welcomed on board and then given what appears these days to be the obligatory half hour talk about what we’re going to be doing and an introduction at length to all the crew. There was a bit of whooping and clapping-not from the punters but from the crew and so we set off. In fact all through the trip, the crew seemed more interested in themselves than those they were supposed to be looking after.
Having given our cabin the once over it was clear that as it was next to the boat’s generator, a move would have to be made. This was accomplished without too much fuss although not with any recognition or acknowledgement that the noise level was totally unacceptable. Before long we moored up and it turned out that was where we were going to stay for the night. This was an overnight cruise? Various optional water activities like kayaking, a small boat trip around the bay we’d moored in were offered, but it was preferable to just look at the view.
Dinner was a buffet, the ghastly scourge of the modern traveller, which was no more impressive than usual, then a slide show on the local flora and fauna given by a young man with blue hair….almost as exotic as what he was talking about. And so to bed. The next morning early we moved off the mooring and up the Sound to catch the sunrise. Extraordinary. One could imagine Captain Cook sailing into the Sound for the first time being unable to grasp the size of it all. Huge cliffs, vast mountains and valleys, stunning waterfalls all make Milford Sound a ‘must visit’ location on any visit to the South Island of New Zealand. However, it may be that an overnight trip is an unnecessary luxury, although the trip each way from Queenstown would be too much for one day.
So, finally, back to the dock and onto the coach for another 2 hour stint back to Queenstown tough when we then had to catch a flight to Auckland. Ah, if only one could have been wafted back by helicopter or small plane, but neither linked up in timely fashion with our flight.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank lestendoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Fantastic to see the scenery on the way in and the cruise is likewise memorable. Would suggest you fly back though, otherwise it’s a 12hr return trip from Queenstown

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Niqgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We were self-drive travellers and arrived at 2pm on Friday in Milford Sound. Got a car park easily in the first parking lot as most tourists had already been and gone for the day.

We chose Real Journeys because of the great reviews and a modern looking boat with a top viewing deck.

Though the 1:30pm cruise was packed with passengers travelling by tour bus, the 3pm cruise was virtually empty with less than 15 guests on a boat designed to hold hundreds. We had a fantastic uncrowded cruise with free run of the boat for taking photos. It was a cloudy day so we didn’t need to pick a tour time for optimum lighting so we were thrilled to have such a quiet, peaceful experience.

The staff were all knowledgeable and lovely - definitely recommend this tour operator and especially out of peak hours.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Gabrielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews