We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A most enjoyable day

Thoroughly enjoyed this day. Drove from Te Anau to Manapouri and boarded cruise on Lake Manapouri... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
nzsnrcitizen
Fantastic Day Out

Everything, Had a fantastic day, it was a absolutely fantstic day out, seeing sea life and even a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
676debsm
,
Queenstown, New Zealand
Read all 1,882 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from US$72.23
More Info
from US$57.64
More Info
from US$94.12
More Info
from US$57.64
More Info
Reviews (1,882)
Filter reviews
1,882 results
Traveller rating
1,356
362
90
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,356
362
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise the bus tasman sea te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip fur seals boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 1,882 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

We had a lovely night.
Beautiful weather.
We saw dolphins and seals.
The food was lovely and plentiful.
Our cabin was very comfortable, we were surprised by the size of the ensuite.
The staff at the office, The Visitors Centre, and on board were all helpful and friendly.
Carl our bus driver was very informative about this part of the world, but he was an amazing driver and we felt very safe even driving through the wintery and snowy conditions..

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank YLisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

If you are going to Milford Sound to cruise the sound, keep in mind it is a long drive from Te Anau and a very long drive from Queenstown. The crowds will be large for your 2 hour cruise and then you have to drive or take the bus back (been there, done that, check it off my list). Why not consider an overnight stay on the Mariner (you need a hotel room somewhere) and when you consider for the price, you get more than a 2 hour cruise, a great buffet dinner, large buffet breakfast, accommodation overnight in a cabin, swimming or kayaking or guided launch cruise of the sound on top, the price is reasonable. Plus you can take your time driving into Milford and stop at all the scenic views, which there are many and considering the road is very twisty/turny and sometimes quite crowded you can't rush things. Your cruise starts when most other people have left for the day (3:30 pm), so the sound is quiet of motors and planes and you get to move your vehicle right up to the cruise terminal for the night (they is no over night parking/camping at Milford). The cabin is smallish, but quite cozy and comfortable (you are allowed a small bag each, but hotels in Te Anau will gladly store extra luggage overnight, that you can pick-up on your return the next day - we did this). The weather can be tricky - if it's rainy you don't see as much of the mountains and glaciers, but the waterfalls are spectacular - if it's sunny you get great views of the mountains and glaciers, but few waterfalls (they dry up quickly). The ship anchors in a quiet cove for the night (great views of the stars on clear nights), so no rocking. In the morning you, after breakfast, you cruise out to the Tasman Sea (can get a little rocky out there, but you quickly turn around and head back into the sound, where it's calm). Lots of bird life to sea, seals on the rocks, sometimes dolphins swimming in the waves by the side of the ship and in season, penguins. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank rbthodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

If you go to Milford Sound, you must take one of the cruises, which will give you an appreciation for the stunning beauty of the Fiordlands.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank CircleTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The Real Journeys team have absolutely superb coaches for this sort of tour.... glass roofed, with seats that are staggered (like in a theatre, so you can see over the people in front) and the seats are angled towards the windows, so you don't get neck ache. They are the best coaches I have ever been on, because they are superbly comfortable..... just what you need for the journey from Queenstown to Milford sound which is long. The trip is a must do as the scenery around Fjordland is stunning and if you are planning on doing it, then it's woth booking with these people. Thanks to all Tripadvisor reviewers who have been before us and who gave us this recommendation.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Martin and Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We were picked up from our hotel in Queenstown taken to bus for our trip to Milford Sound by Real Journeys it was fantastic our driver talked all the way about history current happenings films dining sight seeing and very funny although did pay out us aussies we can take it lol many stops along the way photo opportunities lunch toilet breaks and coffee once on our boat all staff so friendly out on a small boat sight seeing or kayaking our dinner was fabulous seated arrangements soups and platters served then a buffet with just about everything food was delicious. Bar for drinks though these were quite expensive. Beds were very comfy had a great nights sleep up for breakfast at 6.45 full cooked breakfast as well as yoghurt and cereals, fruit. No wi fi but was good to relax. We got to see dolphins swimming around boat this morning and seals. Good bus trip back my husband and I loved every minute thank you highly recommended.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews