We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Real Journeys tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Real Journeys
from US$59.69
More Info
from US$252.09
More Info
from US$305.45
More Info
from US$216.98
More Info
Reviews (1,663)
Filter reviews
1,663 results
Traveller rating
1,183
336
83
40
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,183
336
83
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer nature cruise new zealand tasman sea the bus te anau slide show next morning water activities nature guide before dinner doubtful sound tender boat south island fur seals
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,663 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We were picked up from our hotel in Queenstown taken to bus for our trip to Milford Sound by Real Journeys it was fantastic our driver talked all the way about history current happenings films dining sight seeing and very funny although did pay out us aussies we can take it lol many stops along the way photo opportunities lunch toilet breaks and coffee once on our boat all staff so friendly out on a small boat sight seeing or kayaking our dinner was fabulous seated arrangements soups and platters served then a buffet with just about everything food was delicious. Bar for drinks though these were quite expensive. Beds were very comfy had a great nights sleep up for breakfast at 6.45 full cooked breakfast as well as yoghurt and cereals, fruit. No wi fi but was good to relax. We got to see dolphins swimming around boat this morning and seals. Good bus trip back my husband and I loved every minute thank you highly recommended.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

It's a 2 hour drive from Te Anau with no petrol stations along the way but there are toilets dotted along the route.
This is the wettest part of the country so expect rain. We got drenched walking the 10 mins from the car park to the Visitor Centre (check-in). We had the picnic lunch that we collected on board and it had a good selection of items in it. For the first hour you could not see much as it rained so hard, but just before we reached the sea the rain stopped and what we saw was fantastic. The rain had created hundreds of waterfalls cascading down the sides of the mountain, there were so many it did not look real . . . but it was! There was a commentary throughout the journey pointing out the features that enhanced the experience.
So if it is raining when you go to Milford Sound be grateful, and hope that it stops when you are there, because the waterfalls will look like the CGI from Lord of the Rings . . . but they will be real!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank paulwithcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Really great company to deal with. Happy to answer lots of questions from overseas visitors. Booking Milford Cruise was easy and they even provided information about disability parking. Sovereign was really the only boat that catered properly for people in a wheelchair. Terrific service - friendly, and careful when assisting elderly passenger. Food was fun (had the pre-packed lunch boxes) and the cruise itself was spectacular. Would highly recommend Real Journeys for the Milford Sound experience.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Monteforae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed on the Milford Mariner last night and it was a spectacular cruise. The scenery was simply stunning. The dip in the sound was a highlight as were the dolphins and seals. The peacefulness of the over night stay was fantastic. There was only one downside: the price of drinks - in fact I felt robbed. Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 737elizak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

From our 3 weeks in NZ this trip really stands out not just for the stunning location but for the incredible guide we had on our journey. We took the Coach down to Milford Sound which was driven by their guide Carl, and then stayed overnight on the boat that took us around the Fjord. I'd definitely recommend this as you get to see the place for longer and don't feel rushed. They took us out on a hike to see some really fascinating wildlife and stunning scenery in the sound and we were lucky enough to have bright sunshine on the way down and then overnight rain to set off all of the waterfalls there. The boat was comfortable and the food was really good... we found the bedroom and showers comfortable and slept really well.

It is strange to think that having booked a trip to one of the most unique and beautiful places we are ever likely to go to we would be commenting on the coach journey there and back but our guide was such an incredible individual those journeys have stuck in my mind and I think probably will do forever. Carl talked for hours and hours and hours and at no time did we get bored of what he was saying. He talked all about the scenery on the way down including the plants and animals around us and managed to blend this all in to the history of people in the country, so about agriculture business, ranching etc etc. He also has a lot of stories about filming movies as a location scout, working in some of the areas you drive through and then also stopped often to take us to waterfalls, lakes and other attractions along the way. It really was a pleasure to be guided by someone that interesting

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank nickadams11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews