We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A most enjoyable day

Thoroughly enjoyed this day. Drove from Te Anau to Manapouri and boarded cruise on Lake Manapouri... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
nzsnrcitizen
Fantastic Day Out

Everything, Had a fantastic day, it was a absolutely fantstic day out, seeing sea life and even a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
676debsm
,
Queenstown, New Zealand
Read all 1,882 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from US$72.23
More Info
from US$57.64
More Info
from US$94.12
More Info
from US$57.64
More Info
Reviews (1,882)
Filter reviews
1,882 results
Traveller rating
1,356
362
90
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,356
362
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise the bus tasman sea te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip fur seals boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 1,882 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We booked a cabin on the Wanderer for and overnight cruise as a group of 4, luckily we are close as the cabins are pretty cosy but beautifully presented. The breathtaking drive down to Milford Sound set the scene for what was to be one of the most spectacular sights of our time in New Zealand.

We booked the Wanderer as it was a smaller boat holding a maximum of 36 passengers, it's a beautiful vessel full of character and the facilities were fantastic. I was dubious about shared bathrooms but due to the smaller group I rarely bumped in to anyone. The food similarly was excellent, lovely home cooked comfort food with a view that would be hard to beat!

The other big pull of this Real Journeys cruise was the opportunity to walk a small section of the Milford Track on a 1.5 hour hike, we were lucky enough to be in a group of our own and our guide Zac was an absolute legend! He was friendly, chatty and funny and we had a brilliant time admiring the scenery and traipsing through the rainforest.

We were lucky enough to experience the sound both in beautiful sunshine and pouring rain, we spent a blissful evening watching the sun go down with a glass or two of bubbly in hand then rain overnight transformed the sound in to a misty otherworldly landscape with waterfalls cascading down the mountains. The captain extended an open invitation on to the bridge at any time so we whiled away the journey back from here with a couple of ventures out to feel the raw power of nature and soak ourselves with the spray from some of the more impressive falls as we passed.

All in all it was one of the highlights of our time in New Zealand, the trip was brilliantly organised and wonderfully staffed and we could't have asked for more, well except for a pod of Dolphin perhaps but you can't have everything!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank twogotravelling_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We booked with Real Journeys and everything was perfect. Great coach ride with lots of stops for pix and washroom breaks. Lots of info along the way. The ceiling is windows so you can see everything especially the mountains. The boat ride and lunch on board were great with free tea and coffee and water.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 32brucebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

A group of us spent the night on the Wanderer, and loved every minute of it. You're in the midst of the sound after the crowds, planes and boats have gone, and seem to have it all to yourself. It was so warm out they even let folks jump off the boat into the water! Stargazing at night was amazing, and the staff was informative and friendly. Highly recommend taking the time to see the Sound from this perspective.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank dolce5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Unfortunately the weather was quite misty for the trip, which meant the visibility wasn’t as good as it would have been on a good day. However it didn’t spoil our day. Curls, our coach driver was excellent with lots of interesting information from pickup to drop off. Her knowledge was amazing. The packed lunch on the boat was very good, as were the staff and Melissa as nature guide was excellent. The experience on board was extremely good, allowing us to take close up photographs of waterfalls etc. We were lucky enough to see several dolphins and Melissa was quick to point out anything interesting. I would highly recommend using this company.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank VdelaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

After doing a TON of research, I decided to book the overnight boat cruise on the Wanderer with Real Journey’s. This is the smaller boat they operate in Milford Sound.

The overnight cruise departs at 4pm, and returns at 9am the next morning. The reason I chose the Wanderer over their other boat (the Mariner) was due to the activity onboard. We were able to take a 1.5 hour hike on the Milford Track. This was not an option on the other boat.

Another thing that drew me to the overnight cruise, versus the daytime two hour tour, was due to the long drive from Te Anau, and lack of any other services/activities/accommodations in the Milford Sound area to keep you occupied in the evening, and I didn’t want to drive 5 hours in a day and do a boat ride. Plus, the reviews about taking a helicopter from Queenstown were mixed - it seemed like a ton of the flights are cancelled due to weather (which actually happened to another group that was in the boat terminal while we were waiting to board our boat!).

Lastly, I just thought it would be fun to spend the night on a boat that only sleeps 36 people - how quaint!!

First, the cabin was ADORABLE and small. I recommend you only bring a duffle bag or backpack with one night of clothes, since you have no room for suitcases. The shared bathroom was fine - with so few people, I rarely ran into anyone in there.

The activity of walking on Milford sound was fantastic - the guides show you cool stuff on the trail and talk about the plants and animals. Note - you do not need hiking boots for this walk like the materials they send you state - a normal pair of athletic trainers will do (running shoes, cross trainers, etc), but it is a good distance, so if you don’t walk/hike regularly, you might find this walk long.

The dinner was great. We ended up eating with another couple and had a delightful evening, they had a good wine list and the food was decent. Tip - Bring cash for the bar!

In the morning, we enjoyed a nice breakfast and then spent two hours standing on the deck, snapping photos and being wowed by the 500+ waterfalls we saw. We got lucky - the rain that came overnight gave us quite a show. We arrived back into the harbor at 9:15am, and were quickly on our way to our next adventure.

I loved the overnight cruise, and highly recommend it. It is truly a unique experience. However, I do think it is more suited to couples, adults and outdoorsy, easy going folks. I think a kid or hyperactive adult would go nuts on this tiny boat and drive all the other travelers crazy.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank JM2007SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews