We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning 24 hour trip”
Review of Real Journeys

Real Journeys
Book In Advance
More Info
US$252.65*
and up
Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Choose a Real Journeys Milford Sound Scenic Cruise and experience the fiord's majestic scenery from the comfort of our spacious modern vessels. Exceptional viewing opportunities, spacious decks and comfortable lounges. Look out for seals, dolphins and penguins en route, cruise close to waterfalls and enjoy the magnificent vistas. Informative commentaries in several languages. Delicious lunches available. Departs Milford Sound (all year). Coach connections also available from Te Anau and Queenstown. Fly back option to Queenstown available (extra cost).
Reviewed 24 December 2017

We left the overnight trip on Doubtful Sound until the end of our holiday. We found the company absolutely brilliant every step of the way from initial booking to the politeness and friendliness of all the staff we had contact with. The trip itself was a stunner. Apart from the amazing scenery, the sense you really are somewhere special, the wonderful food we had and the quality of the accommodation as well what we really appreciated was the way the crew turned a trip into a very personal experience for us. Their knowledge of the Sound, the geography and biology is excellent and they took full advantage of local conditions to ensure we saw, and heard, as much as possible. The young crew were a delight. Now we are back home we cannot stop talking about the experience we had. So thank you everyone for the holiday highlight

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank EnglandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"milford mariner"
in 174 reviews
"overnight cruise"
in 293 reviews
"milford wanderer"
in 53 reviews
"nature cruise"
in 125 reviews
"new zealand"
in 163 reviews
"tasman sea"
in 135 reviews
"the bus"
in 207 reviews
"te anau"
in 257 reviews
"water activities"
in 21 reviews
"slide show"
in 19 reviews
"next morning"
in 61 reviews
"nature guide"
in 49 reviews
"before dinner"
in 15 reviews
"box lunch"
in 15 reviews
"doubtful sound"
in 51 reviews
"south island"
in 63 reviews
"tender boat"
in 17 reviews
Filter

181 - 185 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017

We spent a lot of money ($5K !!) to take our family on this 1.5 day trip to Milford Sound but unfortunately the RUDENESS of the staff, Adrian (bus driver) in particular, left a sour taste in our mouths.

We took our baggage with us because a) we had to catch a flight to Auckland straight from the Queenstown airport when we landed by plane charter and b) we are traveling from the US and planned a long trip. When we approached the bus driver (Adrian) with all our luggage we asked if it was ok to take since we will be taking the plane back - he said it would be ok. The next day when it came to taking our flight back they informed us we wouldn't be able to take it on the plane. We ended up having to check our bags back on the bus and therefore, missed our flight to Auckland. Adrian was so rude to us during this entire process! He would not make eye contact and just kept snapping at us instead of trying to understand our side. We brought our baggage in the first place because no one from Real Journeys ever told us we wouldn't be able to! in fact, he acted differently towards us since the beginning of the bus trip! He would be chatting and laughing with other passengers but when it came to us it seemed like he didn't want to bother talking to us.

Maybe it was because we were the only passengers of Indian descent on the trip? Not sure what his problem was but we do not tolerate racism and will not be booking with Real Journeys ever again. We will also discourage our friends and travel agencies from booking RJ. So far in New Zealand everyone has been SO NICE! We have done the Jeep 4x4 tour, river fishing, gondolas, Station2Station bike trail, and have had ZERO problems with any of the staff or tourguides! It wasn't just Adrian, when we were boarding the Milford Mariner, NO ONE offered to help with our bags. We clearly brought the wrong type of baggage (no one warned or told us when we started)- but all the staff standing around the boarding area could have offered to help us!!

Never again, Real Journeys. We missed our flight because of you, and felt discriminated against during our "adventure" with you.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank sabinabh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

The tour company is well operated. We had driver Craig who had a good sense of humor and good storyteller. Gave us a lot of information on the country, topography, plants, animals, etc. He got us into helicopter on way back. Yes DAMN expensive BUT worth it. Live only once ;)

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Wander_Lust1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

We went on the Milford Wanderer overnight and it was amazing. Spectacular scenery, great crew and wonderful food. Make sure you see the after dinner slideshow, I laughed till I cried. I can’t recommend Real Journeys highly enough.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank 471raewyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Took this trip from Queenstown. The bus was okay, but hope that the person in front of you doesn't decide to put their seat back or it is like a bad airline experience. The driver was informative on the way and mostly let us sleep on the way back. There was Wifi but it was spotty and he warned us about this. There were some issues when people changed seats on the return that were handled poorly. The trip from Queenstown to the Sound is long but the scenery is very nice.

The boat trip was very good with good guides and great scenery. The prepurchased lunch was actually very good. There were a lot of opportunities to get some great pictures and you lose count of the number of waterfalls.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real Journeys also viewed

Milford Sound, Southland Region
 
Milford Sound, Southland Region
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Real Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing