We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
First class

Wonderful experience that both of us were going to do in the future. So glad we have done it... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Rose P
via mobile
Mitford overnighter a must do

The overnight trip in Milford Sounds was so beautiful and special. The ship, the staff, the food... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
559lyndad
,
Lowet Hutt, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 1,864 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from US$358.09
More Info
from US$71.19
More Info
from US$56.81
More Info
from US$92.76
More Info
Reviews (1,864)
Filter reviews
1,864 results
Traveller rating
1,339
361
90
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,339
361
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise tasman sea the bus te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip milford track boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 1,864 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

With discounts we paid $500 pp. Which is Exorbitant for such a short flight in a light plane!! (Eg. my son just flew Geneva to Paris $80 return!!!) But it did include a 1 hour boat trip, and lunch which for the price was a very poor show. A cardboard box with sandwich, apple, and a few packets of snacks. Tea, coffee you pay extra, and as no drink is provided with the meal you pay. Very overrated and hyped up efficient way of extracting tourist dollars. Give it a miss. It’s no more scenic than Queenstown.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank gillv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

We took the panoramic coach from Te Anau. We were picked up from our accommodation. Great nature tour to Milford Sound followed by a 2 hour cruise along the length of the fiord. This is s very profess company. Staff are experienced and courteous. Their knowledge and friendliness were much appreciated. Along the way in the coach, stops allowed for sightseeing added to the experience. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank jackiew185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

This was by far one of the best highlights of our honeymoon!
We got the coach to Milford Sound with our brilliant and humorous driver Craig. He knew the best places to stop on the way to stretch our legs and talked none stop about the area, rainforest and had a few stories for us too!

The cruise was amazing, the crew were well trained, polite and knew how to have a laugh. We got the best weather, sunny and warm. The Tasman sea was flat which allowed us the do kayaking and speed boats in the ocean! During and after dinner we sailed around the Tasman and watched a group of whales breach the water. The baby one got over excited and jumped out a few times. The cabin was cosy but the beds were super comfy and quiet. Breakfast was good and very relaxed. We sailed around the Milford Sound and spotted lots of penquins and seals. The captain took us up close to a couple of the waterfalls before docking. We enjoyed every single moment of this overnight trip.

This was a once in a life time cruise and we got the best of everything! It could not have gone any better!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Group of 4 on a packaged trip around NZ including a number of trips with Real Journeys.

All of their arrangements have proved to be superb, reliable and prompt. Drivers have been informative and humorous. Well done Brian on yesterday’s trip to Milford Sound and then onto Queenstown.

The company arrange a range of trips - excellent value in every respect.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank JaysieofHadleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

We were picked up at 7.30am, the coach was very comfortable and offered surround views through the glass roof. Sadly the weather was very poor with cloud and rain so nothing was visible through the roof. It is a long journey to and from Milford Sound and sadly because of the weather the return flight we planned was cancelled. The coach air conditioning broke down on the way home which cost an hour and so we didn’t get back until 9 (instead of the 5pm if we had returned by plane). The rain, however did provide stunning waterfalls. Brian our driver/guide was excellent and very knowledgeable with a very listenable voice. He had a very long day but stayed cheerful and positive.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank HindyHints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews