We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A most enjoyable day

Thoroughly enjoyed this day. Drove from Te Anau to Manapouri and boarded cruise on Lake Manapouri... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
nzsnrcitizen
Fantastic Day Out

Everything, Had a fantastic day, it was a absolutely fantstic day out, seeing sea life and even a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
676debsm
,
Queenstown, New Zealand
Read all 1,882 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from US$71.26
More Info
from US$56.86
More Info
from US$92.85
More Info
from US$56.86
More Info
Reviews (1,882)
Filter reviews
1,882 results
Traveller rating
1,356
362
90
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,356
362
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise the bus tasman sea te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip fur seals boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 1,882 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We joined the Milford Sound tour on the 25th Oct 2017 and while the weather did not co-operate, the driver made the trip even more disappointing.

The driver we had (Bus 16) on that day, was quite smooth while delivering commentaries that he did like clockwork but insults passenger if additional clarifications are asked during stop over. A passenger seeks clarification where exactly will he park because his commentary say "I will wait for you in the other side". His response is "What is the use of my commentary if I have to repeat it 10 times?". This guy think that everyone will understand everything he say and can imagine everything he say. On another occasion one passenger trip with some physical difficulty trip while getting off the coach. The driver who saw it just look at her like nothing happened.

Are they really just supposed to just drive and deliver a scripted commentary on this tour and nothing else?

Date of experience: October 2017
6  Thank pawiks63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

This is a tricky review. We booked with go orange, but we were told their boat was non operational, so it would be on Sindbad which is a Real company boat. We read many reviews about smaller boats and their ability to get closer to the falls etc, but we had no problem getting saturated. Our excellent skipper, Dennis, and his glaucoma free eyes even found us a penguin.
Unfortunately the weather was poor, and it was too foggy to see the mountains, but we did get greater falls due to the water. Because it is not the go orange boat, we did not get the fish and chips, but a sandwich snack pack which was brilliant. It included a sandwich, water, chips, chocolate, nuts, cheese and crackers, and an apple. I think this is the Real food which costs $20.
The only issue with Sinbad is that in rain, there is no outdoor covered area. Other than that, the boat was great.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank 51kaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

what a bad experience my boyfriend and i had and it began while booking the cruise.
Firstly i rang up to book 2 weeks before we wanted to go, when booking it the woman i spoke to asked me if i wanted transport from queenstown at that time we didnt know where we would be staying so i told her this and her reply was to just say okay and then proceeded to hang up the phone, so i presumed it was booked in and we would call again to sort out transport.
Secondly when i phoned up to reconfirm my booking and check about transport i was told they had no record of my booking. When i explained that i had booked with a travel agent i was told that the travel agent was supposed to ring and book and i couldnt of done this myself, and was told to ring the travel agent back and speak to them to book with real journeys which i did, the travel agent then told us they had booked it in but we were to phone back up and ask to speak to Vicky who had dealt with him on the phone and booked us in, i phoned up within 10 minuets and was greeted by a rude woman on the other end of the phone when i asked to speak to Vicky she said 'i dont even work with anyone called Vicky' so i proceeded to sort the booking out with her and she was just very rude and moody the hole time anyway after her telling us it was $100 each for pick up we told her we will make our own way there.
After a 3 hour drive from Queenstown we made it to Milford Sound at 11am and went to check in, we were told that the boat had already left, it was 11:03 as we were having this conversation. The person at check in told us we were meant to be there at 10:45, after speaking to 3 different very unhelpful people on the phone not one of them managed to tell us we were meant to be there 15 minuets before to check in!! Meaning we had to wait 2 hours in the middle of no where for the next boat. We actually asked for a refund as we were not in the mood to even go on the cruise by this time but we were told that wasnt possible but we would be able to go on the 1oclock cruise free of charge which i find hilarious they were even going to try and charge us for a hole new trip!!
Defo research as there are alot of other companies you can go with.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Hannah

Thank you for your review and for your separate email. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad booking experience and replied to your email last week requesting further information as there appears to be some confusion between our service and that of your travel agent. Anyone making a direct booking with Real Journeys is asked to check in 20 minutes prior to departure, this information is also on our booking confirmation and should be passed on by travel agents. We would also recommend 5-6 hours to drive from Queenstown to Milford Sound. Once again, we are sorry to hear about your experience and welcome any information you have that enables us to follow this up.

Regards, the team at Real Journeys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

This is a great experience; when we arrived in Milford Sound, the weather was gloriously sunny and clear, which was amazing, but not really normal. On the morning after staying on the Mariner, the weather was very different - very rainy! This however was perfect, we saw a completely different side of the fjord, with waterfalls appearing everywhere. This is the kind of thing that you only see with enough time in the fjord. The experience on the boat was great too, with options of kayaking or tender boat trips.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

A must while visiting the South Island of New Zealand. Milford Sound is an awe inspiring experience. Stunning scenery. We where lucky enough to see sea lions, penguins and dolphins!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank jonesduncan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews