We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Journeys Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise from Queenstown”
Review of Real Journeys

Real Journeys
Book In Advance
More Info
US$252.65*
and up
Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Choose a Real Journeys Milford Sound Scenic Cruise and experience the fiord's majestic scenery from the comfort of our spacious modern vessels. Exceptional viewing opportunities, spacious decks and comfortable lounges. Look out for seals, dolphins and penguins en route, cruise close to waterfalls and enjoy the magnificent vistas. Informative commentaries in several languages. Delicious lunches available. Departs Milford Sound (all year). Coach connections also available from Te Anau and Queenstown. Fly back option to Queenstown available (extra cost).
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We went on the overnight cruise to Doubtful Sound from Queenstown and it was absolutely magnificent! Queenstown was hit with some bad weather which can often close the Milford Sound road so we played it safe with Doubtful Sound trip (and heard it was the better and less touristy of the Fiord tours!). We were not disappointed! From the second we got on the bus, our first bus driver was giving us facts and information about the local area and hot spots on the way to our ferry. One of our group of 3 was partially sighted and said the commentary was an amazing touch to the drive. Then we caught the ferry with amazing reflective views across Manapouri and onto our next bus trip, with equally good commentary! And that’s not even starting to talk about the overnight boat. We’ve never been in such untouched, isolated tranquillity. The staff were fantastic, food was delicious and plentiful and the nature guides gave us so much information and were so enthusiastic about their jobs, it really made the trip. It was worth every penny and the accommodation was really clean and comfy. I genuinely don’t think we can find a criticism about this trip. Would definitely recommend to a friend!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank rmurchnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"milford mariner"
in 174 reviews
"overnight cruise"
in 293 reviews
"milford wanderer"
in 53 reviews
"nature cruise"
in 125 reviews
"new zealand"
in 163 reviews
"tasman sea"
in 135 reviews
"the bus"
in 207 reviews
"te anau"
in 257 reviews
"water activities"
in 21 reviews
"slide show"
in 19 reviews
"next morning"
in 61 reviews
"nature guide"
in 49 reviews
"before dinner"
in 15 reviews
"box lunch"
in 15 reviews
"doubtful sound"
in 51 reviews
"south island"
in 63 reviews
"tender boat"
in 17 reviews
Filter

224 - 228 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

We book the tour along with the gloworm tour which affords us a discount.

We were prompt picked up from our accommodation in Te Anau as scheduled, and then transferred to a bigger coach, which came from Queenstown.

It's a couple of hours drive to the port for our cruise, but the ride was good and we made a couple of stops for bathroom break and scenic look out.

The journey was made better by the fact that the coach has a glass roof, comes with USB charging port and the seats are slightly slanted to an angle so you can enjoy the view without having to turn your head to look out the window

There are two types of cruise - Nature and Scenic, and we booked the Nature because it is slightly longer (although everyone arrives and leave at the same time) and it is an English cruise

Our package comes with a lunch box which we exchange with a ticket that was issued to us before we board the coach back in Te Anau

Although a lunch box, but it was packed full of food! An apple, slim chocolate stick, sandwich, crisps, cookie, cheese & crackers, small bag of mixed nuts and a bottle of water. There is also free flow of soup and break rolls, along with tea/coffee

The waters was quite choppy and a couple of people suffered from seasickness...

We managed to get real close to some beautiful waterfall...and seals basking on huge rocks :o)

Immediately after we return to port, we have to hurry back to the coach where the scenic cruise tourists have been waiting - we were advised to use the bathroom on the cruise, rather than back at the terminal

Again, we get to enjoy the beautiful scenery for our ride back to Te Anau, sans stops

Definitely recommend this to anyone in the area

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank CookieBaby2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Wat a lovely educative and fun experience staff very friendly. Hitesh our tour guide was great. We had time to visit te anau and walk along te anau lake

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank judeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing cruise with real journeys at Milford sound. Great buffet lunch but service can improve. Views are stunning and breath taking

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank AnGeLo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Kia Ora Angelo, thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the lunch, cruise and all the scenery Milford Sound has to offer. We are sorry to see that the service on this occasion did not live up to our normal high standards. We can assure you this would be the exception rather than the rule and hopefully will see you again should you ever revisit this beautiful corner of the world.
Kind Regards, the Real Journeys team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

What an amazing tour! These guys really earn their money with how tricky the drive is and to keep it up plus some really great commentary is to be commended!

We had Adrian for our Milford Sound trip, he had some great stories and was lovely.

The sights were incredible and we stopped quite a few times on the way for photo/toilet breaks.

I am travelling with my 3 and a half year old son and the whole trip seemed safe and other than keeping my eye on him which I do everywhere I had no real concerns.

I would definitely book through these guys again!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Bec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real Journeys also viewed

Milford Sound, Southland Region
 
Milford Sound, Southland Region
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Real Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing