We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Real Journeys tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Real Journeys
from US$59.69
More Info
from US$252.09
More Info
from US$305.45
More Info
from US$216.98
More Info
Reviews (1,663)
Filter reviews
1,663 results
Traveller rating
1,183
336
83
40
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,183
336
83
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer nature cruise new zealand tasman sea the bus te anau slide show next morning water activities nature guide before dinner doubtful sound tender boat south island fur seals
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 1,663 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Milford Sound is beautiful. We saw waterfalls and seals and went all the way out to the Tasman Sea. However, what we will never forget from our day with Real Journeys is the half-hour ride there and back in a very small plane! If you're at all afraid of flying (I was), this will definitely cure you for good. It's surreal and amazing to be right behind the pilot flying over stunning mountain peaks and blue lakes, and then down the whole length of Milford Sound. On the day of our pre-booked trip, low cloud at Milford Sound meant the whole thing was almost cancelled, but Real Journeys went above and beyond to get us there eventually and onto a boat for a cruise. The flight option is great as it gets you to Milford Sound and back to Queenstown for a stiff drink in under five hours.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Silvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

This Nature Cruise uses a larger ship than most, with a full bar and snacks available for purchase. (free coffee/tea). Also it wouldn't be tossed around in rough seas as much as the smaller boat tours.
I went ahead and booked this particular cruise because it was the shoulder season and there probably wouldn't be as many people . I'm sure it's crowded in their summer season but so are the other tours. This boat went out farther to the Tasman Sea. You could feel the larger waves and experience being more in open water for a short time. It felt like being on the "Calypso" of Jacques Cousteau fame!
Good and informative commentary on board by a naturalist. The captain was able to get the boat right by some seals on rocks and right up to a large waterfall. It did rain hard for about half the trip so wear waterproof and warm clothing. (went in mid May).
Driver of the coach had dry sense of humor which was fun and informative.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

This was the one event we booked prior to arriving in NZ- a bucket list item.
The drive from Te Anau was magnificent- we stopped for lots of short walks and to enjoy the magnificent scenery.

The Mariner cabin was comfortable for two (we were on the lower deck- so you had to stand on the bed to see out the window)- the meals were tasty (make sure you budget for some nice NZ wines) - and nature guide helpful.

The weather was misty, with low cloud- so we enjoyed magnificent waterfalls- but also- resulted in a wet deck , and the drain drip-drip-dripping on the ledge above our window all night.

I would suggest requesting an upper floor cabin (not sure if this comes at an extra cost) and look for the ear plugs in the bed-side draw.
(I have reported this to the company- they assure me they will investigate).

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Kia Ora and thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are disappointed to receive this three star review. This is the first time we’ve had feedback that the water drips off the fender – so we thank you for bringing this to our attention. As you have mentioned, our Overnight Manager in Milford Sound looking into the cause of this with our Maintenance team and hopefully will be resolved so as not to affect anyone else. We are sorry you had a disturbed sleep whilst on board however pleased you enjoyed the rest of your experience in Milford Sound. Regards, the Real Journeys team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

From the moment we left Queenstown with Real Journeys we knew that we were in good hands, this company is very professional and certainly know how to look after their clients. We helicoptered in to meet the Milford Wanderer and our 7 day voyage started at Preservation Inlet .The vessel gave us a very comfortable home for our voyage The crew - Chris (Skipper) Felix (no 2) Stefan (Cook) Richard (our guide)Mike (Tender Skipper) and Annette( that looked after us so well) were fantastic .We traveled the fiords and what a special place this is with the surrounding hills and calm seas . Blue cod and crayfish what more could one want..... A great week ,thanks Milford Wanderer

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Fairmont020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

We couldn't be bothered to drive to Milford Sound so we chose RealJourneys and it was worth every dollar!! It was perfect to be able to sit and take in the scenery while listening to commentary in their glass ceiling bus. Almost as impressive as Fjiordland National Park was our driver's (Brian) ability to talk and drive the narrow and windy Milford roads at the same time. The Milford cruise was pleasant and on time with good toilet facilities on board.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Venture711035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Kia Ora and thanks for the review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your Milford Sound experience. Our drivers are amazing, we are pleased to see you agree! Travelling by coach is definitely the most relaxing way to get there and allows you take in all the breath-taking views en route.
Kind Regards, the Real Journeys team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews