We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
My Perfect Lunch Date

A delightful journey on the Vintage Steam boat Earnslaw Warm glassed in cold fired, able to... read more

Reviewed yesterday
FaeIsite
,
Queenstown, New Zealand
Magical Experience

We did the overnight cruise on the Milford Mariner,and it was just a magical experience. From... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Tony H
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 1,868 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from US$364.29
More Info
from US$72.42
More Info
from US$57.79
More Info
from US$94.37
More Info
Reviews (1,868)
Filter reviews
1,868 results
Traveller rating
1,343
361
90
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,343
361
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise tasman sea the bus te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip milford track boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 1,868 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

We couldn't be bothered to drive to Milford Sound so we chose RealJourneys and it was worth every dollar!! It was perfect to be able to sit and take in the scenery while listening to commentary in their glass ceiling bus. Almost as impressive as Fjiordland National Park was our driver's (Brian) ability to talk and drive the narrow and windy Milford roads at the same time. The Milford cruise was pleasant and on time with good toilet facilities on board.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank workaholic888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Kia Ora and thanks for the review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your Milford Sound experience. Our drivers are amazing, we are pleased to see you agree! Travelling by coach is definitely the most relaxing way to get there and allows you take in all the breath-taking views en route.
Kind Regards, the Real Journeys team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

My partner and I recently stayed on the Milford Mariner for an overnight cruise. Booked well in advance online, booking and checking in was very easy.

Once aboard, we were given a quick introduction/safety demonstrated and invited to check in to our rooms. We had a single room, and having never stayed on a boat/cruise before, we found the room well sized (considering), well set out and equipped. Note, the boat has a license to serve alcohol, however does not have a BYO licence, so keep your own booze for another time.

The onboard nature guide provided some entertaining and informative information throughout our journey, so make sure you get out of your room to enjoy the scenery and commentary. Also, don't let the Milford Sound weather get to you, as per the nature guide's advice - a hot shower awaits you at the end.

Dinner, dessert and breakfast were all quality meals and well organised by the staff.

Date of experience: May 2017
3  Thank U4395XXamyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Our kayaking trip was cancelled do to inclement weather, so my friend and I decided to take the Milford Mariner cruise instead. We had a great time, despite the weather. Our director had lots of helpful information. We also got to see seals and penguins! The ship had complimentary coffee and hot chocolate, which was greatly appreciated! The rain was actually a benefit because there were hundreds of waterfalls running from all the extra rain. We had a lot of fun on this last minute expedition.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank PBMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Kia Ora and thanks for taking the time to post this feedback. We are pleased you managed to join us for our scenic cruise on the sound. We agree that it's amazing in the rain - hundreds of waterfalls cascading off the cliffs everywhere? What's not to like!!
Kind Regards, the team at Real Journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

We started with a very long bus ride from Queenstown through Te Anau to Milford Sound.
What a beautiful way to see the area however a tip for selecting a seat.
DO NOT SIT IN FRONT OF CHILDREN!!!
5 hours of chair kicking and I had had it.
The main attraction was spectacular and something everyone should experience.
Highly recommend it, Real Journeys were very professional from the check in to the bus driver.
We flew back to Queenstown with Glenorchy Air! AMAZING!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank MattyAspinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

A perfect day for a perfect cruise on milford sound. Coached to milford from te anau. Comfy, glass roofed, stops en route and authentic kiwi commentary by our driver dino. The milford mariner was ready and waiting.. taking us on a brilliant 2 hour plus cruise on the sound. Again excellent commentary and stops along the way.. waterfalls, seals and the amazing flora somehow growing on the impossibly steep ravines. Cost was $160 nz which was at the top end of the market. But the value was there. As dino would say.. good as gold, sweet as, awesome bro...

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank A9886ATbrianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Kia Ora Brian, thanks for the review. It's great to receive such positive comments. We will be sure to pass them on to your driver! The drive down is spectacular and with our glass roofed coaches, the views are non-stop!
Kind Regards, the Real Journeys team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews