We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
First class

Wonderful experience that both of us were going to do in the future. So glad we have done it... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Rose P
via mobile
Mitford overnighter a must do

The overnight trip in Milford Sounds was so beautiful and special. The ship, the staff, the food... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
559lyndad
,
Lowet Hutt, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 1,864 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Milford Sound
from US$358.09
More Info
from US$71.19
More Info
from US$56.81
More Info
from US$92.76
More Info
Reviews (1,864)
Filter reviews
1,864 results
Traveller rating
1,339
361
90
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,339
361
90
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer new zealand nature cruise tasman sea the bus te anau slide show next morning doubtful sound nature guide tender boat south island boat trip milford track boarded the boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
644 - 649 of 1,864 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Amazing! My fiancée and I did the overnight cruise. We were picked up in Queenstown in a larger tour bus with great views. Remember to pack a small backpack and leave your suitcase with the hotel you stayed with. The bus ride was beautiful and informative. We stopped for bathroom breaks and lunch. The boat ride was perfect! We did not experience the mass amount of rain that is to be expected. We took the kayaks out for a short trip before dinner. The food was very good and there were several options. The staff was informative and very friendly. The beds were uncomfortable but that was to be expected on a boat. The views were gorgeous! This is the best way to see Milford sound in a short amount of time.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank 801lyssah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Our bus took off from Queenstown and went westward through the picture postcard like New Zealand. Our young guide Paul entertained us with informative tidbits and stories. Milford Sound was mind-blowing. We saw dolphins and seals too.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank BGhosh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

My wife and I were travelling with two Kiwi friends who had pre-booked this trip for us all after researching all the options. We travelled on a luxury bus and our driver/guide Paul was very knowledgeable about most of the places we passed, and stopped several times to allow us to visit special places of interest. We were lucky enough to have a bright, dry, sunny day and the boat trip on the Sound was spectacular. A long day to and from Queenstown but well worth the effort. This tour seemed good value for money with no hidden extras.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Thanks for the review. We're pleased to hear how much you all enjoyed your trip to Milford Sound, it's a truly spectacular destination. It is a long day, however as you mention, the coach is comfortable and provides great commentary so is not as tough as you may initially think. Hopefully the rest of your time in New Zealand is just as good.
Regards, the Real Journeys team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Wonderful scenery even when it is misty with low cloud base.
Excellant driver with interesting commentry. Lots of stops on way out for photo taking.
A long coach journey. We had booked the flight for the return journey but it was cancelled because of the weather. I suspect that frequently happens.
Good viewing from the coach although if you were above average in size with long legs you maybe a bit uncomfortable.
Good interesting boat trip.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank 27Sue68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

A fascinatingly beautiful ride among the waterfalls, sea life, and rugged mountains of the area. A great photo op excursion.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews