We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Real Journeys tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Real Journeys
from US$59.69
More Info
from US$252.09
More Info
from US$305.45
More Info
from US$216.98
More Info
Reviews (1,663)
Filter reviews
1,663 results
Traveller rating
1,183
336
83
40
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,183
336
83
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford mariner overnight cruise milford wanderer nature cruise new zealand tasman sea the bus te anau slide show next morning water activities nature guide before dinner doubtful sound tender boat south island fur seals
Filter
Updating list...
569 - 574 of 1,663 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2016

This tour takes you for a full day trip with long bus ride and just a 2 hour cruise of Milford.
The tour starts early in the morning at 6.30 - 7 a.m with a 4-5 hour bus ride. The bus is very comfortable with glass ceiling enabling us to look at the magnificent mountainous view along the way to Milford. Some stops are made along the way for us to stretch our legs and take photographs. Once reaching Milford Sound, we board the cruise directly for a 2 hour journey along the fjord to the mouth of the Tasman sea and back. Lunch are provided upon request, but its advisable to bring your own, since they only have limited options of picnic lunch (sandwich), indian food or Japanese bento, which I think are overpriced. After finishing the cruise, we are then taken back to Queenstown on a non stop bus ride for about 3-4 hours.
Real Journeys is definitely a top notch provider. Comfy bus, Comfy cruise, knowledgable bus drivers / tour guides. On the other hand, I don;t think it's worth the time to spend a whole day riding for an 8 hour return bus ride, just for 2 hour scenic cruise at Milford. The view is great, no doubt about it, but I would advise people to spend a little bit more money and fly out to Milford instead. I heard the view astounding from above. Other better option is to stay on a liveaboard cruise for 1 night, with plenty of activities available like kayaking.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank JohnAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

We chose to take a small plane (also Real Journeys) from Queenstown to Milford- the bus takes many hours and the flight only an hour & worthwhile in its own right. The cruise was amazing- it goes the whole length of the sound to the sea and there are a number of sights en route. As you return you hug the edge and get close to a seal colony and several waterfalls. The commentary was fine and a TV showed cruise information. You can pre-buy a variety of lunch packs which were adequate. Tea/ coffee was complementary.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank chaletaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We did the afternoon tour departing at 1:45 and highly recommend it. The views of MS are stunning and the naturist on the microphone was informative, fun, and insightful. We'd highly recommend this!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank BenjaminB591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Its fantastic. Milford Sound has a glory to it for a reason. Cruising the fjord is a must do experience, you can choose between a 2 hour cruise or an overnight cruise. We went on the overnight cruise with Real Journeys and it was just so fantastic. A cozy little vehicle with a charming staff, good food and comfortable rooms. You can go for a Kayaking session in the fjord or a ride onboard a tendercraft. The cruise takes you to the mouth of the fjord where it opens up in Tasman sea and back to Milford. It takes about 4.5 hrs and 300km to drive to this place but totally worth it. No wonder its called as the 8th Wonder :)

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank fromindiatoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

AMAZING. Do it. Seriously. Its a once in a lifetime experience, yes its a long drive there but the views on the way are spectacular, you wont find anywhere in the world like it. the coach was nice and the company was good, no faults on their behalf on anything. Definitely buy lunch tickets ! its a long trip and you'll get hungry. i got the picnic lunch and even though it sounds small, i was really hungry it seemed to do the trick, it all tasted fresh and yum. Only Reason this is not 5 stars is the travel back by coach felt sooooo long. Would definitely recommend getting a plane or helicopter back because since it gets dark on the way back you dont have much to look at on the way home so there's not much to do then either sleep, eat, or play on your phone ( download a movie or tv show beforehand to bring with you) . It feels like forever despite the stops. Maybe if they stopped only for a toilet break in Te Anu on the way back (not another 20 mins) we couldve all gotten back sooner. Otherwise, Amazing experience, worth the money !.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank samcruz94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews