We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of The Grille

The Grille
Ranked #13 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 March 2021 via mobile

First stop in Invercargill was Bill Richardson Transport World and we had lunch at The Grille before we did the tour. I had salmon, which was really nice and my partner had the blue cod, which he enjoyed. We both had a glass of rose and decided that it was an excellent meal to begin our stay in Invercargill. Maybe a little on the pricey side for lunch, but worth it

Date of visit: March 2021
2  Thank EAS509
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2021

Absolutely loved here. Great food and service and the best cheese roil we had in Southland. We had blue cod and salmon. Both delicious.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Leigh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2021 via mobile

We had been told to try cheese rolls in Southland. We from North Is.
Best ones we found were at the Grille at Bill Richardson’s

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank J n M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2021 via mobile

We came in with no booking during a busy lunch and were grateful to be seated a table for two. The staff were friendly and very accommodating despite being busy and most likely stressed out! great service from the two waitresses that served me today. The food was also nice. Tomato relish with my eggs on toast was different but definitely a nice addition. Coffee was yummy 😋

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank grinvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2021 via mobile

Average Service, Good Food, Great Location
Yes it is the Burt Munro weekend so you would expect the place to be bulging but the place was barely occupied with more than half the tables empty and yet the service was appalling. We had to request someone take our order as did a number of other tables. Then the wait for the coffee was painful. The guys on the table next to us had been waiting over 30mins for their coffee and when we got ours ahead of them I mentioned that they were still waiting having ordered well ahead of us. The saving grace was when the coffee and food eventually arrived it was very good. The wait staff need to wake up and service their customers. Such a shame as this is a cool place.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank charliebuch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Grille also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.