We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of A la Turka

A la Turka
Ranked #57 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 July 2020

Something must have changed. Food and service did not match the old reviews of this restaurant. Kebab was cold and fries were mediocre, was not worth the $19 spent.
My first 1 star.

Disappointed turkish food lover

Date of visit: July 2020
1  Thank Joshthedosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2020

Our favourite Turkish restaurant has changed hands and now it's dreadful. Such a shame, this once spotless, clean restaurant where you were warmly welcomed .... the food consistenty delicious and tast is now the complete opposite. The food is bland, cold and well below average. The restaurant floor is stacked with boxes of drinks and produce they either cant fit out back or simply cant be bothered with.

When ordering a kebab, surely you choose your own condiments. Not here, they decide for you...too bad if you dont like sweet chili and mayo.

We will never return.

Date of visit: May 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank D and M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2019

This married couple from Turkey knows how to provide really delicious meals quickly and with a friendly flair. It's almost like you're dining in their family home back in Turkey. Yes, the food is THAT good. Pricing is competitive representing good value for your money.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2018 via mobile

Friendly service, fresh and fast as well.
On the Main Street. Easy to see.
Chicken kebab was spot on.
Nice!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank elliotf485
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

We love to support Amed and his business. Fresh Turkish food and falafel kebabs are delicious. We think the best kebab shop in Invercargill and think you will too!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank GayeRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed A la Turka also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to A la Turka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.