We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, watery curry.”
Review of Curry Guru

Curry Guru
Ranked #66 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 October 2023

In town this week for work, hankering for a good curry. Went in, placed my order & paid, was told it'd be 10 minutes. Returned in that timespan after visiting another shop, person who took my order made eye contact with recognition, so I figured it wouldn't be too much longer. 5mins went by & another customer came in & ordered. Another 10 mins go by and the customer who ordered AFTER me got his meal! I made eye contact with the staff member who promptly vanished. Rang bell, it was ignored. A couple mins later I finally got my meal. Will definitely go somewhere else for tomorrow night, awful, avoidant service, and after all that, the curry was watery, & flavourless!

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roving29441458435
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2023

Best curry in town, highly recommended. Recommend the butter chicken and nann as it was very delicious

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Culture15988782944
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2021

Got a meal this week and the naan were so burnt and black, we couldn’t eat them! We normally go there every week but sadly we won’t be returning!

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank 74rerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2021 via mobile

I ordered a regular butter chicken. The chicken had burnt bits around the edges and was not hot.
I also ordered a cheese narn which was burnt on the bottom. Most disappointed in the quality of this meal.
I rang to inform them I was disappointed with the meal, their comment was I'm sorry about that and then they would talk to the chef.
The narn was inedible.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank OnAir41613291902
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2021

We couldn't fault the meal, which was both generous in size and flavour. Lots of depth and the use of Indian herbs and spices, the best,authentic curries we have had in a long time. Sadly, they were not serving the dossas on the day we visited, although on the menu it stated that they were available on the days we were there.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank montegobay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Curry Guru also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Curry Guru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.