We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overated”

Ascot Chinese Takeaways
Ranked #20 of 28 Quick Bites in Invercargill
Price range: $3 - $20
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 June 2020

untidy looks dirty, food is average not sure what its so popular. They do make nice 🍟 other places out there who do better

Date of visit: June 2020
Thank JohnNZ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2020 via mobile

Needed a snack and read that Ascot was a very good takeaway..
So dropped in and ordered... 15 minutes to wait..
$12:50, for a large portion and it was large..
Back at the hotel .. ooohhh they mixed my order..
Beef and chicken noodles.. oh well what I had was amazing
Highly recommend...

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2019

i got delivery. reasonable price. food was still quite hot when i got it. chinese food good most of the times. fish and chip menu is average but not bad.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 3amdaydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2019

I ordered a chop suey pattie, plain sausage, and chips. The pattie was mostly dough with the odd bit of cabbage, a couple of peas and a few bits of corn. The chips pale and soggy. My husband said the sausage was fine. The shop was crowded and most people were ordering the Chinese style meals so perhaps that is more their line.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alys847
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2019

We were staying with a large group at the Balmoral which is also in Tay street. We needed a quick and delicious meal while at competitions for the weekend.

I ordered 10 dishes from the Ascot and they delivered to the motel within the timeframe we indicated for our evening meal break for our large group - Delicious.. Will definitely use these guys again...

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank helenw-Wellywood2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ascot Chinese Takeaways also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Ascot Chinese Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.