We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better risotto than in Italy”
Review of The Rocks Cafe

The Rocks Cafe
Ranked #4 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Price range: $20 - $69
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Local cusine cooked fresh daily, bursting with flavour and generous serves. Followed by great service and pleasant clean decor.
Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

I had THE best risotto ever - salmon & prawn - honestly, I could not fault it. It was perfetto! Absolutemente delizioso!!!

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2024 via mobile

Celebration dinner with a group of 28 friends and family. Excellent food & service. No complaints from a large group like this is exceptional. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank bigpotly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to eat. The food was delicious with good gluten free options for one of our party. The venison was beautifully done- not overcooked and so was the steak. Service was good. They were very busy as was just before Christmas so a few large parties which made it a bit noisy, however, our meals were prompt. Would recommend.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank ClareFChc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2023

I organized a lunch for a Family birthday party at the Rocks from Wellington. The experience in organizing was streamlined, simple and each with emails. Sweta was lovely to deal with. I booked function room. The team dealt with the changing numbers with grace even after the deadline. We really appreciate the effort. In the end 15 people had lunch and enjoyed each others company. 4 generations were present.

The food was lovely as was the service.

Definitely Recommend.

There was some confusion as to whom was the birthday person (we were celebrating so many) reason became clear when a special dessert was presented.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helena-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2023 via mobile

Loved the food and the service. Casual atmosphere in a small arcade.
Our meals were delicious and just the right serving size. Pork belly and slow cooked lamb were both tender and so tasty. The glaze on the pork was a bit too much, that’s the only complaint. Both meals came with great salad/ veggies. Nice wine choice.
Highly recommended for great food in a cool casual environment.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Rocks Cafe also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.