We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“不太开心的结局”

Hong Kong Restaurant
Ranked #86 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: Invercargill's only Chinese Buffet with up to 16 choices as well as banquets for groups and menu options. Family or function friendly plus a Karaoke room upstairs !
Restaurant details
Description: Invercargill's only Chinese Buffet with up to 16 choices as well as banquets for groups and menu options. Family or function friendly plus a Karaoke room upstairs !
Reviewed 19 April 2024 via mobile

well,after check the comments here, we decided to try it, as my kids were keen on the ice cream! The food was ok, above our expectations. There were not many choices but it is fine considering in Invercargill. Location is great and the restaurant is clean. We had good time but was disappointed at the end: we were told $23 for buffet, and $20 for my yr 11 and $12 for the yr 7, however we were charged $29 for one adult when checking out. As we mentioned the offer, the reception refunded. This was not a pleasant experience. If you decide to go for the buffet, double confirm the price before sitting down.
地方很好,品种一般般,味道还可以,雪糕很受孩子欢迎。我们进门时说是23刀一个人,11岁20刀和7岁12刀,结账时却是29刀一个大人,在我们询问之后,有点不太开心地退了3刀/一个大人。如果开始就说是午餐23刀晚餐29刀也是可以接受的,这个结局让店家和顾客都很不开心和尴尬!大家开吃前还是确定一下价格为上!

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Long L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2022 via mobile

Went for a takeaway buffet dinner which was good. Did the trick nothing special but happy non the less. Seemed very quite though

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank CraigA1839
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2022

The Hong Kong restaurant venue and staff provided the most outstanding service last Friday night. Eight of us for Chinese Buffet and to top it off, the karaoke lounge provided entertainment that we will definitely going back for. Best night out in Invercargill for a longtime.

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jayfrombluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2022

be aware although the buffet food is good dont take any notice of the opening time as advertised some friday evenings it wont be served until at least 630 not 530 as stated on the website

Date of visit: February 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tsxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle E, General Manager at Hong Kong Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2022

We are sorry about this - its challenging at the moment because of the city upgrade, we have had less customers because the roads are closed, sometimes we will put off putting out the buffet until customers actually arrive because we want it to be hot and fresh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Don't go! Listen to me again. Don't go for the lunch buffet.
Limited number of dishes that are maybe just a bit warmer than room temperature.
Most of the food may have been hot if it came from the kitchen yesterday but I don't think they have any heat under the serving trays.
Yuck!
Perfect petri dish to breed food poison

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bigskyblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle E, General Manager at Hong Kong Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2022

We are very sad that you did not mention this at the time as we are unsure of your experience, the buffet has heating lights above and boiling water underneath that you can see steaming!! We have never had a complaint about the food temperature and we have been here a long time. The food certainly comes form the kitchen hot and fresh every time we replenish the trays. If anyone comes in and a dish has not been replenished for a while (eg at the end of lunchtime) we always offer on the spot to cook something fresh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hong Kong Restaurant also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Hong Kong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.