We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cafe in town.”

Copper Kettle Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 28 Quick Bites in Invercargill
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 November 2023

Still the best cafe in Invercargill. Great coffee and the food is of the highest quality.
The staff, like all the H&J’s staff, provide the best customer service you’ll find anywhere in the world. Five Stars.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Global61031518306
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2023

This place was excellent. Highly recommend the garlic prawn chips- top tier restaurant quality food. 10/10 every time

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank Bell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2023

I enjoyed the scone, was disappointed first time slack of staff so cabinet food only. Didnt like coffee in glass cup. 2nd time got gnocchi which looked nice just a bit spicy for me and bread a bit hard.

Date of visit: January 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Connector4965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2022 via mobile

I was very disappointed with the selection on display. No hearty southland food like my favourite, cheese and pineapple toasted sandwiches. Looks just like every other cafe, not a historic southland icon. Won't be recommending.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank Haerena_hari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2022

After shopping up a storm in H and J Smith, four of us went in to the restaurant for lunch. Two ordered the hot seafood noodle dish of the day.
We both found the dish to be very over salted, and inedible. After bringing this to the attention of the waitperson , we just asked that they bring us a couple of cheese rolls instead. We were told they couldn’t do this at no charge and so the manager duly arrived. She agreed to do this. 20 minutes passed an no cheese rolls. One of the staff noticed we were still waiting and went to check. They had forgotten them, I approached the counter and asked for a refund of both original dishes as we were totally over the experience by now. I was told they couldn’t authorise the refund, and they went off to find the manager. She was not to be found, so the staff made the call to refund. Unbelievable.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Copper Kettle Restaurant also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Copper Kettle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.