We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$168
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$164
Fully refundable before Mon, 22 Apr
No booking fees
Vio.com
$161
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
91
35
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
91
35
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath room upstairs close to town at short notice burger king transport museum studio unit comfy bed great shower south island stewart island geoff motel dishwasher accommodation laundry richardson
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2023 via mobile

Excellent motel we stayed as a family of 5 and the room was epic! Highly recommend for families and plenty of space, warm, clean and just superb! Hosts friendly and seamless check in process. Only wished we’d stayed another night! Thanks for a wonderful stay. Thank you

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kiwinz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Geoff Shepherd, Owner at 295 On Tay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2023

Hi
Thank you for your fantastic review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Cheers Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2023 via mobile

Comfortable enough room but the bathroom exhaust fan, which comes on with the light, is VERY noisy, room 17 upstairs. The shower water runs cold mid-shower, which is not pleasant at all. To get hot water back, the tap needs to be turned off, then on again. For these 2 reasons we have dropped from 4 stars to 3.
The location, as it is with most motels here, is not close to town for walking to restaurants.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Geoff Shepherd, Owner at 295 On Tay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2023

Hi
Thank you for your fantastic review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Cheers Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2023 via mobile

Comfortable for one night stay. Stayed on way south. Warm and comfortable. Friendly staff. Stayed in a, studio unit which had everything we needed. Location is just out of town but convenient. Just down from burger King which was handy as we arrived later.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MattyS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Geoff Shepherd, Owner at 295 On Tay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2023

Hi
Thank you for your fantastic review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Cheers Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2023

Our accommodation was in one of the adjoining houses - which was very well specced! Very modern and clean and spacious - it was like having a huge house to ourselves. Location also very convenient.

Staff were super helpful too, allowing us to store some gear with them for a few days while we visited Stewart Island (we returned and stayed another day following our return to Invercargill).

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Geoff Shepherd, Owner at 295 On Tay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2023

Hi
Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Cheers Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2023

We stayed in a unit at the back of the motel complex. King size comfy bed, separate lounge/kitchen, all the amenities you could need like a dishwasher, washer/dryer combination. Very quiet and very clean.
Shout out to Issie who was warm and welcoming and made our stay a pleasure. Many thanks!!!

Room tip: Stay in an apartment at the back to avoid any road noise.
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Geoff Shepherd, Owner at 295 On Tay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2023

Hi Julie
Thank you for your fantastic review we are pleased in enjoyed your stay in our one bedroom apartment.
Cheers Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews