We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Railway Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Central City Camping Park(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ascot Park Hotel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quest Invercargill(Invercargill)
US$96
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Park Motels(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower Lodge Motel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homestead Villa Motel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Motel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelvin Hotel(Invercargill)
US$138
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
141
64
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
64
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstewart islandno elevatorcosy barboutique hotelcharacter and charmcity councilplace to staythird floorold buildingold stylelovely hotelsouth islandwarm welcomeroom was largenew zealandnext morningspent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We arrived on a rainy Friday night only to discover that the hotel restaurant wasn't going to be open that night (though the literature in the room seemed to suggest that the Friday closure was new -- since it said the restaurant was open on Fridays!) Our room was clean and comfortable. Hotel is centrally located.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TristanEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Regarding Invercargill, I probably agree with Keith Richards' cryptic summation. But this hotel was an absolute treat. Tom and Rose are impeccable hosts: nothing is too much trouble, the food is very good (OMG those Bluff oysters!) and the original fixtures and fittings, down to the china, pottery and paintings, all brilliant. I'd return just to stay there another night or two.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRHotel, Manager at Victoria Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We would love to see you back soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

The Victoria Railway Hotel is a big old pile full of personality and charming Tom and Rose who could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Their recommendations were great, the bar was friendly (try the Cardrona orange liquor), and dinner was delicious. My son was converted to oysters, and everyone is still raving about the lamb.
Even if you are after a modern style and this is definitely an old-fashioned hotel, it is worth giving it a go - the beds are really comfortable and everything is spotlessly clean. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sailingcarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Booked a couple of nights at this pub over our South Island tour. Wonderful historic pub which also features in the "Pubs with Personality" pub guide so guaranteed to be good. Lovely welcoming hosts, Rose and Tom. Explained all the key local attractions. Had dinner at the bar (optional to use restaurant) on our first night. I love a short menu where the food benefits and this was no exception. Gorgeous new season Bluff oysters at a sensible price followed by excellent fish 'n chips with a superb broccoli side salad. Good range of wines. Pricing very fair. Very comfortable and spacious room with en suite, which for us is mandatory! Excellent central location and easy walking distance for all local attractions, bars, cafés and restaurants. Easy free parking either on site or across the road.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel on the way to Stewart Island
The hotel is an historic two story building close to the railway station
There are many rooms most of which have different internal architecture.
Although we did not eat at the hotel there is a restaurant and small bar and the hotel provided very nice breakfasts at a modest extra cost
The owner and staff were fantastic and made you feel very welcome.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews