We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic chowder & battered blue cod”
Review of Emberz Restaurant

Emberz Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #18 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Price range: $18 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our Ethos: From Farm to Fork. Food with honesty, from sources of integrity. Grown, harvested and procured by passionate people. Telling the stories of our Southern region, the changing seasons, the people who work the land, the sea and the bounty it provides. Our role as chefs is to tell these stories; we are the link between mother nature and the diner. We hunt….. we gather….. we grow….. we cook, this is the story we wish to share.
Reviewed 25 November 2023

Booked into the emberez bar to eat as more buzzy but a bit busy so had to eat in the restaurant which we don’t like as it’s dark with no atmosphere.
Food was fantastic table a great size, chairs comfortable

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Memobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Emberz Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent dining experience. It is great to read your overall experience was positive and I hope that next time you can get a table in the bar!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Very Best Regards Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2023

Service was great but unfortunately the meals weren't. $54 for a very small lamb rack, roast was very meager with hardly any roast vegetables, had to send the portobello mushroom gnocchi back as it was so cold & $42 for 3 small pieces of blue cod, some chips & a salad of mainly lettuce. Very disappointed as we've had many meals here in the past 6 years. Many places in Invercargill now that do much better. Totally need to up their game as one of the ILT show places here.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Myra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Emberz Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2023

Dear Guest
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with all important feedback from your latest dining experience. Great to read the staff looked after you well but we are obviously disappointed to read your comments about the food. Portion sizes being too small is generally not a complaint we receive as value is important to us. I would like to personally apologise for your experience on this occasion and I will be following up with our kitchen team to ensure we get our consistency on delivery sorted. I hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future. Very Best Regards Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2023

Out with friieds for midwinter shout !! Chose Portobello mushroom gnocchi tossed with lashings of spinach , pumpkin plus sauce. Recieved only gnocchi (=flour and water blobs) with 3 small Slithers of mushroom and a stalk of broccoli .On complaining duty manager came back.with some more scratchings of mushroom ..I said it's not value for money and I would write a review...She said "well its only your opinion,"....despite the others agreeing it was sub standard and way off the $32 price tag !! This attitude gives NZ a bad name as well as your establishment ...Won't be going back !!

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rus3Osb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Emberz Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

Dear guest.
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent dining experience. It is disappointing to receive your low rating and read your comments about your experience. I have followed this up with the team immediately to ensure that a similar incident like this does not occur in the future. I would like to sincerely apologise for this experience as this is not the level of service or food we look to provide. Feedback is a very important part of our improvement process and this review will help us to be better. If you would like to give us another opportunity in the future please contact me directly as I would like to personally ensure your next experience is a more positive one. Very Best Regards Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2023

Enjoyed the ambience, the service, the food, the company and the fireplace! The meal sizes were generous and the quality was exceptional. I’ll be back.

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Emberz Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2023

Dear Carla
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback from you recent dining experience. It is great to receive your 5 star rating and read your positive comments. I will be sharing your review with the team and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Very best regards Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2023

Lovely atmosphere, hadn't been for awhile, saw a change in menu thought would try again. Had the Lamb rack $54 really dissapointing for the price, fat wasn't rendered & the bones could have been cleaned up instead of leaving the skin on them. Probably wont go back or recommend 😕

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisasM2476WJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Emberz Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2023

Dear guest,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review from your most recent experience. I will be following up with the executive chef regarding your comments on the Lamb rack, it is disappointing to read that the meal was not up to your expectations. The focus of the Lamb rack has been on size of the dish receiving the full rack rather than half but very good points you have raised regarding the preparation and presentation. Feedback is a very important part of our improvement process and your comments help us to improve the service and products we deliver. I hope that you will give us another opportunity despite your indications that you won't? Please contact me directly as I would like to personally ensure your next visit is a more positive experience. Very Best Regards Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emberz Restaurant also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Emberz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.