We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want first rate food in Invercargill, this is the place to go!”

The Saucy Chef on St Andrew
Reserve a table
Ranked #5 of 120 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $69
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great place to dine. We liked the modern interior which had lots of interesting corners and we had excellent service from Flynn who showed attentiveness and common sense throughout our meal. The food was seriously good - my lamb hotpot was full of flavour and was accompanied by a great medley of vegetables and tasty onion rings. My wife was similarly complementary about her fish of the day. We couldn't not have desserts after first rate main courses and our Eton Mess and Donuts were very enjoyable. Definitely one of the best meals we had during our five week tour of NZ.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tintin630
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Over rated and over priced. I only get $35 for a goat and that’s how much the shanks were. Had fish of the day and it was off, couldn’t finish it

Date of visit: June 2024
Thank nedboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant Manager, General Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Nedboe, we're sorry to hear about your recent experience. We strive to provide quality dishes at fair prices. We appreciate your feedback and will address the issues you've mentioned with our team. We hope you'll give us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2024

A perfect setting and the food was well prepared and presented. The meals were excellent, tasty and met our high expectations. The young waiter Flynn (year 12 at High School) had a friendly happy personality, met all our requests with gusto and had to be one of the best waiters we have experienced for a long time. To the owner of this restaurant don't lose him as he is certainly one of the reasons we will return when we are back in the South. Barry and Jan New Plymouth.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BarryG1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant Manager, General Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Hi there BarryG1503 - This feedback is wonderful and greatly appreciated. I have passed this onto Flyn, your waiter of the night and he is also very appreciative and thrilled that you had an enjoyable night. We very much look forward to seeing you again :) Kindest regards, Madison O'Kane-Evans (restaurant manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024 via mobile

The selection of food on the menu here is awesome! The staff were all very friendly and great at engaging with all of us. The meals were very tasty and the dessert menu was one of the best I’ve seen. We will definitely come back here next time we’re in Invercargill!

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank sesjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant Manager, General Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2024

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable night here at The Saucy Chef. We look forward to seeing you next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2024

Our family took us to this restaurant tonight. It was our first time and they recommended this restaurant. We were welcomed, great service. Excellent range of dishes to choose from the menu. The dinner was not only delicious but beautifully presented. It certainly was busy tonight but meals served in a timely manner. We definitely will return.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Savitraveler198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Madison O'Kane, General Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saucy Chef on St Andrew also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Saucy Chef on St Andrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.