We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rosalind ”

The Saucy Chef on St Andrew
Ranked #8 of 115 Restaurants in Invercargill
Price range: US$15 - US$42
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I took some Dunedin friends for a meal at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew Street and they were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff.
On arriving we were warmly greeted and shown to our table.
I had phoned earlier to book a table and requested it be to the side of the dinning room to which it was. Our waitress Jordan arrived (with a lovely big smile) to greet us and informed us that she was our waitress for the evening . She told us what the specials were and discreetly left us to look at the wine list and menu. Her attention to our table was impeccably. We enjoyed a beautiful meal accompanied by a smooth white wine. As we were lingering over the last of our wine Jordan approached to say good night as her shift had finished and introduced us to Sumanto who would be our waiter if we required any further service.
I can not fault the service by both of the staff. Sumanto was extremely polite and very professional in his work. I will continue taking my visitors to this restaurant and highly recommend it to anyone.
Thanks to Jordan and Samanto for making our night so enjoyable. I hope their professional and informative service will be acknowledge by the management of the restaurant. Thank you till next time.

Thank Rosalind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018

We love dining at the Saucy Chef.Firstly our own waiter Samanto greets us with a wonderfull smile, knows exactly what we want to eat and drink and delivers to us our beautifully prepared and presented meal. Many thanks. It's also great to see whole families there.
Rex & Denise

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CathyC3353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

It was a very enjoyable experience from the moment we walked into the restaurant.
Jordan our waitress was very accommodating, checking frequently throughout the evening to see if we needed anything. The meal was superb. Well presented and of a very high standard. Thanks to the chef, Jordan and James the manager for a wonderful evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DawnC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaucychef2017, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi DawnC79,

First of all i would like to say thankyou for your Tripadvisor review, this is much appreicated.
Thankyou for your lovely comments about Jordan, i will pass this onto her, she will be pleased to hear that you loved your evening with us. I have passed your great feedback onto the kitchen also.
We look forward to seeing you next time you visit us!

Kind Regards,

James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

As always fantastic food and amazing service! Once again thank you for a beautiful evening! Cheers

Thank KymR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaucychef2017, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Kym R,

Thankyou for review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us, as you know we take pride in excellent Food & Service, so we are pleased to see that mentioned in your review.
We look foward to seeing you next time.

Kind Regards,

James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

My favourite place to dine. Excellent food and service in great surroundings. Nice place for a group or a quiet meal for two. Also very competitive pricing for the high standard of dining provided. Best to book online before you go to make sure you can get a seat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank djangor14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaucychef2017, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi django r,

Thankyou for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us.
We look forward to seeing you again next time.

Kind Regards,

James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saucy Chef on St Andrew also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Saucy Chef on St Andrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing