We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food & Service”

The Saucy Chef on St Andrew
Ranked #2 of 107 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$42
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of us (14) visited here for dinner last Sunday.
The service was fantastic from the moment we arrived, our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable.
The food was outstanding, the Blue Cod is a must try when visiting the lower south island.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBotts95, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Ben A,

Thankyou very much for such a great review! We work really hard to offer the best food with the best possible service, so i am happy to see that refelcted on your recent visit to us.
we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Chef and waitress had a great understanding of Coeliac Disease and the need to provide a safe Gluten Free meal for our son. Chef even cooked his fries in a pot on the stove separatel, big thumbs up..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeanneLester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBotts95, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi LeanneLester W,

Thankyou for your review on your recent night out at The Saucy Chef,
I am pleased to hear that we were able to be of assistance with your Son, and i am glad that you all enjoyed you evening with us.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind Regards
James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Christchurch to Invercargil is a rather long drive. Knowing that we will be going to this restaurant is always a focus to shorten the trip.
Amazingly diverse menu that delivers top flavours and choice.
A must if you have ventured down south.


Thank TeamGoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBotts95, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi TeamGoblin,

Thankyou for your feedback, This makes us so happy that The Saucy Chef is the first place you come to after your long journey down, The Head Chef strives to put together a diverse menu that has something for everyone on it, so we are glad that this was recongnised on your last visit.
We look forward to seeing you next time on your visit to Southland!

Kind Regards,
James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Awesomeness on a plate, and totally impressive staff. Loved the atmosphere, this place has it all...go try it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gr8luau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBotts95, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Gr8luau,

Thankyou for feedback on your recent visit to The Saucy Chef, we are glad that you enjoyed your evening with us, i have passed your good comments onto the staff which they are very happy with, as we aim to provide the best possible service in the best enviroment, so i am glad to see this in your review.
Thanks Again :)

Kind Regards,
James Botting
Restaruant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Saucy Chef was recommended to us by our hotel. It was within walking distance and pleased we dined there. We had chowder and fish of the day - both delicious and no room for sweeties! Meal sizes are very big! Good wine selection too. Service was excellent.

Thank Luxgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBotts95, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Luxgb,

Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us, I have to agree the Fish of the Day and Seafood Chowder are both very wholesome popular dishes.
Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saucy Chef on St Andrew also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Saucy Chef on St Andrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing