We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in Invercargill”

The Saucy Chef on St Andrew
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$42
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

This is my all time favorite restaurant in Invercargill, good for business dinners or family occasions, great choice of the most presentable southern dishes, super friendly staff and great environment. Highly recommended.

Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2017

a great place for lunch. Friendly staff and excellent food. plenty of room to relax. good wine list with local wines.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rose740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaucychef2017, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi there rose740,

Thanks for the great review, We are pleased that you enjoyed your family lunch with us.
Look forward to seeing you next time.

James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

Have been here several times. It's pretty hit and miss whether you'll get a good meal. Unfortunately it's more miss than hit.

The resaurant is typical of those owned by the local liquor licensing trust. Expect expensive low quality food.

For the latest experience I tried a seafood salad. Smoked salmon with scallops and prawns. The prawns were cooked well. There were two scallops of which one was very overcooked and the other overcooked. The salmon was inedible - very dry and with an extremely bitter taste. It was sent back to the kitchen were the excuse came back that it was the method of smoking and that's how it was. In my experience that's the result of bad smoking.

The atmosphere is very noisey which is perhaps better suited large groups that don't care about anyone else or the food they get served.

Recommend that you give this place a miss and find somewhere else.

Thank Kelwyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaucychef2017, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi there Kelwyn O,

We are disappointed to hear about your unsatisfactory experience you had with us, i can assure you this is not of our usual standard. It would be very much appreciated if you please contact us so we can get more details to be able to look into this further, to avoid this happening again.
Kind Regards
James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Based solely on Trip Advisor reviews, we chose The Saucy Chef for a family Christmas get together. Their Brunch menu was perfect - something for everyone including two tempting vegetarian options. The waitress was amazing! Friendly, great food recommendations and super accommodating. We were a group of 14, which must have been a pain for the kitchen, however food came out all at once, beautifully presented and fantastically tasty. Have to say, their dessert menu was the best I've seen in a very long time. Looking forward to going back again soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kat_irons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaucychef2017, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi there Kat_irons,

Thankyou very much for a great review! we work really hard to offer the best food and the best atmosphere possible so i am happy to see that reflected on your visit. I have passed on your great feedback to your waitress on the day, and she is also pleased you enjoyed your family get together with us.
Look forward to seeing you next time.

James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

We were recommended this place to eat by the motel we were staying at. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. Would love to eat here again if ever in Invercargill

1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaucychef2017, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hi Elizabeth G,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us, we would love to see you next time your are down in Invercargill.

James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saucy Chef on St Andrew also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Saucy Chef on St Andrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing