We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family get together”

The Saucy Chef on St Andrew
Ranked #8 of 115 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$42
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Based solely on Trip Advisor reviews, we chose The Saucy Chef for a family Christmas get together. Their Brunch menu was perfect - something for everyone including two tempting vegetarian options. The waitress was amazing! Friendly, great food recommendations and super accommodating. We were a group of 14, which must have been a pain for the kitchen, however food came out all at once, beautifully presented and fantastically tasty. Have to say, their dessert menu was the best I've seen in a very long time. Looking forward to going back again soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kat_irons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaucychef2017, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi there Kat_irons,

Thankyou very much for a great review! we work really hard to offer the best food and the best atmosphere possible so i am happy to see that reflected on your visit. I have passed on your great feedback to your waitress on the day, and she is also pleased you enjoyed your family get together with us.
Look forward to seeing you next time.

James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

We were recommended this place to eat by the motel we were staying at. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. Would love to eat here again if ever in Invercargill

1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaucychef2017, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hi Elizabeth G,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us, we would love to see you next time your are down in Invercargill.

James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Visited on a Monday night, restaurant was busy, the staff were very friendly, the menu has a lot of choices and the food presentation and flavours were outstanding. Highly recommend.

1  Thank R8581QDsuem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaucychef2017, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi R8581QDsuem

Thanks for your review, we are pleased that you enjoy your evening with us.
We look forward to seeing you next time

Kind Regards
James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed my meal as I usually do but the service seemed particularly slow for the amount of people that were dining that evening

Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaucychef2017, Manager at The Saucy Chef on St Andrew, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hi Amanda K,

Thank-You for taking the time to review us, Thanks for bringing this to our attention, and our apologies that the service was not up to the usual standard. I will pass this on to the team. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

James Botting
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Salt and Pepper Squid cooked to perfection. Would have been nicer with a chipotle aioli. Staff were lovely . Food was pleasant but sauces were all the same

Thank wendy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saucy Chef on St Andrew also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Saucy Chef on St Andrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing