We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Louise K

Didn't want to leave

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Apr 2024via mobile
This was so comfortable I was reluctant to leave.Seperate bedroom, with very comfy bed and bedding. Full kitchen and extra large living area. Plenty of tv channels, easy parking and very short drive to city centre. Across from Princess Park and the Watertower
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Our room was the last in the row,so may have been larger than others.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tower Lodge Motel, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this review
Responded 6 May 2024
Thank you for your feedback, Louise, we do appreciate it and we are pleased that your stay with us, was a pleasant one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
295 on Tay Motel at night
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $173
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Tower Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $158
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Tower Lodge Motel
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Tower Lodge Motel
Free parking
Comfort Inn Tayesta hotel in Invercargill, New Zealand
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Tower Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $135
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Tower Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kelvin hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Tower Lodge Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
View of Camping Park
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $83
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Tower Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our new outstanding superior room decor.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $229
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Tower Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $127
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Tower Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Unit 5 (1 Bedroom)
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $147
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from Tower Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Invercargill
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
358
81
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
358
81
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water tower queens park botanic gardens stay there again across the road te anau town centre bedroom unit motel hosts val units hayes kitchenette bluff dunedin catlins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2024 via mobile

We stayed in Rm 18 which was like a small house. Very roomy, with two bedrooms and a separate fully-equipped kitchen and lounge. Despite its size, the unit was warm and got the afternoon sun, so we were very comfortable here. The unit seemed to have recently been recarpeted so there was quite a strong new carpet smell. Would be a good place to base a family staying in Invercargill for a few days. It was a ~5 min walk to the Saucy Chef, which was a fantastic restaurant.

Room tip: Room 18 was right on a busy road, so the road noise was quite bad. If this bothers you, I would ask not to have this unit.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sesjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tower Lodge Motel, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Thank you for your feedback, Sesjj, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sorry for the new carpet smell, but this was beyond our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024

My husband and I were on a driving holiday in NZ and stayed overnight here before travelling on the South Scenic Route.
James made us very welcome on our arrival, checking us in to a Compact Studio before giving us a map of the area and pointing out places of interest. The room was very clean and quite enough room to put our luggage. The bathroom was an older style with the shower over the bath, a vanity with storage and a toilet, all of which were spotless. The attention to detail was evident.
The photo on the website depicted our room perfectly.
The lighting was good with wall lamps over the bed, a centre ceiling light and down lights over the kitchen area.
We were self catering so the fridge, microwave, glasses, crockery and cutlery were adequate for our needs as well as the small table and 2 chairs.
The nice heavy curtains blocked out the light and the bed was comfortable for a good night's rest.
Val and James appear to take a lot of pride in managing this motel. It is good value and a great spot to stay while in Invercargill.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmelNewcastle_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James Neylon, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Thank you for your feedback and rating of Tower Lodge, Carmel, we do appreciate it and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Nice clean motel room, very large and a good kitchen.
We only stayed one night en-route to Stewart Island, so where not really there that long.
Short walk the the park and that water tower, and not too far into town.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mart888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tower Lodge Motel, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Thank you for your feedback mart888, we do appreciate it and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2023

An excellent motel, very clean, spacious and all that is needed for a stay. We only intended one or two nights but decided to stay 3, including our 40th wedding anniversary. Really enjoyed our visit to Invercargill. The owners/managers were very friendly and helpful with advice.

Room tip: we asked for a rear unit, no issues with traffic noise, and a very handy rear gate option for exiting
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 18Beverly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tower Lodge Motel, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2023

Thank you for your review of Tower Lodge, Beverly, it is very much appreciated, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time enough with us, to extend it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2023

Tower Motel was top notch. We were welcomed by James, the manager, who gave us great restaurant suggestions, discount coupons, and wonderful suggestions on where to stop on our drive from Invercargill and Te Anau. The room was spacious, with a separate living room, big comfy bed, well stocked kitchenette, and a spot to park the car right outside the door. It had a great location next to the Queen’s park and many shops and restaurants.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LC1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tower Lodge Motel, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2023

Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated and we are pleased that your stay with us was a pleasant one, and that we could help with that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews